Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Research Impact and Analysis:  Maximising impact

Regulary check NURO

Regularly check NURO

NURO is the University of Newcastle’s research publications management system. Publications data captured in NURO is used to populate online researcher profiles and for research data initiatives such as the annual Higher Education Researcher Data Collection (HERDC) and Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA).

Publications in NURO are automatically harvested from online databases, including Web of Science, Scopus, PubMed and Europe PubMed Central. Publications not located in these databases can be manually entered into the system by researchers. NURO automatically searches the databases at regular intervals, or after you change your search settings.

New users should check their search settings and adjust if necessary.

Activate your NEXUS profile

Activate your NEXUS profile

Your University researcher profile can display details of your academic qualifications, professional experience, publications, citation counts and altmetrics, grants and funding, supervision, and collaborations. Update your web profile via Nexus.

Create an ORCID identifier (and profile)

Create an ORCID ‚Äčidentifier (and profile)

ORCID is a not-for-profit organisation providing a registry of persistent unique identifiers for researcher and automating linkages to research objects such as publications, grants, and patents. It aims to solve the name ambiguity problem in research and is an open and transparent linking mechanism for other researcher ID schemes (e.g. WoS Researcher ID, Scopus ID). Individual researchers can apply for an ORCID free of charge.

Link your ORCID identifier into NURO to allow NURO to more easily identify and capture your research publications. 

You can also integrate with other profiles:

Publish in open access publications

Publish in open access publications

Open Access (OA) provides a way to promote broader access to academic research outputs by scholars, students, professionals and the general public via the internet. 

Open Access is the immediate, free of charge, online access to research articles. Users are able to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search for and link to the full text of open access articles. Open access research articles can be made available via archives, repositories and open access journals.

The benefits of open access:

  • Provides greater visibility for research outputs
  • Increases a readers ability to find accessible research literature
  • Increases impact and readership of an author's work
  • Provides access to research institutions, world wide, regardless of budget
  • Provides free online access to the general public and business community, previoulsy unavailable
  • Creates transparency

For further information about open access check the University's Open Access LibGuide

Deposit a copy of your publication in NOVA

Deposit your publications in NOVA

NOVA is the University of Newcastle's institutional research repository. This service is available to assist with central storage, management and access to research and research related outputs and resources of the University of Newcastle, its staff, students and affiliates. A major feature of the repository is its ability to promote the research of our University by making our content accessible, searchable and discoverable by the global research community via the major search engines. Where possible the Library endeavours to make available full-text research publications via open access.

Share your research data

Share your research data

Sharing data is of benefit to the wider research community, can help to expedite research and provide further impact and citation of research publications.  Sharing data allows the research to be verified, replicated and extended and can also reduce duplication of similar research.

Piwowar, Day & Fridsma (2007) provides one example of how publicly available data has increased citation impact:

... 48% of trials with publicly available microarray data received 85% of the aggregate citations. Publicly available data was significantly (p = 0.006) associated with a 69% increase in citations, independently of journal impact factor, date of publication, and author country of origin using linear regression.

Sharing data does not necessarily mean making data openly and publicly available although this is something that many researchers choose to do, and/or may also be a funding requirement. When choosing to share data, researchers have the ability to determine access conditions and to set a desired level of access to their datasets.

Check the University's Data Management Toolkit for more information about research data management, data management plans, file formats, storage and backup, citation of data, and locating data archives and repositories. You can also contact your Senior Research Librarian for more details.

Blog,tweet and post

Blog, tweet and post

... Prior to me blogging and tweeting about the paper, it was downloaded twice (not by me). The day I tweeted and blogged it, it immediately got 140 downloads. This was on a Friday; on the Saturday and Sunday it got downloaded, but by fewer people. On Monday it was retweeted and the paper received a further 140 or so downloads... Ergo, if you want people to read your papers, make them open access, and let the community know (via blogs, twitter, etc.) where to get them. Not rocket science. ‚Äč

(Source: Terras, M. (2012). The Impact of Social Media on the Dissemination of Research: Results of an Experiment. Journal of Digital Humanities, 1(3))

Join researcher networks

Join researcher networks

Consider joining researcher networks to share and monitor analytics for your research publications, and connect with other researchers in your field.