Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Research Publications Collection:  Other Research Outputs

Guidance on reporting research outputs for UON researchers and academic staff

Creative works

Includes:

1. Written works such as commercially published novels, volumes of poetry, play or film scripts, scores of musical works;

2. Recorded works such as commercially distributed recordings of live music; theatre or dance performances, films, multimedia or sound productions;

3. Individual exhibitions of original art – curated exhibitions of substantial works by an individual artist exhibited for the first time in a recognised gallery or museum.

Exclusions:
• reviews of art exhibitions, concerts, theatre productions, etc.
• any creative work which has already been counted in a previous collection or one which is already counted in this collection under another category, even if it qualifies for inclusion under Category J on a number of grounds, e.g. a play whose script is published and whose production is recorded for commercial distribution or an exhibition that is exhibited at various locations may only be counted once
• any published material whose date of publication is other than the Publication Year.
• exhibitions which have more than one exhibitor, even if one person is the main exhibitor
• exhibitions whose first day of exhibition does not occur in the collection year even if the majority of the exhibition does
• editing, compiling or curating of creative works
• live music, theatre or dance performances unless the performance is recorded for commercial distribution
• any creative work which has already been counted in a previous collection or one which is already counted in this collection under another category, even if it qualifies for inclusion under Category J on a number of grounds, e.g. a play whose script is published and whose production is recorded for commercial distribution or an exhibition that is exhibited at various locations may only be counted once
• any recorded material whose date of recording is other than the Publication Year

Non-HERDC Category Publications

From 2016 onwards, the Higher Education Research Data Collection no longer includes research publication counts. At UON, research publications will continue to be assessed using the HERDC specifications for A1, B1, C1 and E1 publications only. J1 Major creative works will also be included.

All non-Category 1 publications and outputs will be marked as declined within NURO. Citations for these will still display on research profiles.

This guide will be kept online for legacy purposes only. 

Questions?

Help using NURO

Contact your Senior Research Librarian

Research Publications Collection

Email: publications@newcastle.edu.au

NURO Reporting Help

Email: Research Performance and Systems Support

Excellence in Research Australia (ERA)

- ERA FAQ

- ERA Contacts