Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Research Publications Collection:  FAQs

Guidance on reporting research outputs for UON researchers and academic staff

Research Publication Collection FAQs

From 2016 onwards, the Higher Education Research Data Collection no longer includes research publication counts. At UON, research publications will continue to be assessed using the HERDC specifications for A1, B1, C1 and E1 publications as these are still used for internal reporting purposes and will be used for the next Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) evaluation.

This guide will be kept online for legacy purposes only.

Eligibility Criteria

HERDC Eligible Publication Categories

HERDC Process and Supplying Evidence to the Library

Weightings

Non-Affiliated Research Outputs (not affiliated with the University of Newcastle at the time of publication)

Researcher Profiles

ERA

Please see ERA Frequently Asked Questions

Publication Types and Other Research Outputs

 

HERDC Eligibility Criteria

What is the HERDC definition of research?

See the Key Eligibility Criteria page. 

What is the HERDC definition of a commercial publisher? What evidence is required?

The 2015 HERDC Specifications* state that:

“A commercial publisher is an entity for which the core business is publishing books and distributing them for sale.

If publishing is not the core business of an organisation but there is a distinct organisational entity devoted to commercial publication and its publications are not completely paid for or subsidised by the parent organisation or a third party, the publisher is acceptable as a commercial publisher.

Important note:
Publication is more than the production of a book. It includes quality control such as peer review or equivalent in-house quality control through processes such as expert assessment or review, as well as editing, copy-editing, design, and conversion of the work to an appropriate format.

For the purpose of this data collection, university and other self-supporting higher education institution presses are regarded as commercial publishers, provided that they have responsibility for the distribution of the publication, in addition to its printing.

HEP and other self-supporting HEP presses are also regarded as commercial publishers, provided that they have responsibility for distribution in addition to publication.

Evidence

If there is insufficient information on a publisher's website to satisfy the criteria for a commercial publisher, further information may be requested. This could include:

- confirmation from the publisher that they meet commercial publisher status,

- evidence of the editorial process for the publication.

Publications that do not completely satisfy the criteria may also be referred to the Publications Review Panel, chaired by the DVC Research and Innovation who will determine the appropriate category.

HERDC Eligible Publication Categories

Can publications in other languages be included?

Yes, providing the publication meets the key eligibility criteria and the criteria specified for the relevant publication category. The same verification evidence is required, in English, as for any other works. It is not necessary to translate the entire publication, but all relevant sections required for the verification of information to demonstrate that it meets the criteria of the category against which it is being claimed. This includes evidence that the work is a major work of scholarship and meets the definition of research.

Can my journal articles with a status of In Press, Online First, Early View be entered?

Journal articles classed as “in press”, “advance”, "early online" "online first" e-prints and pre-prints are not included for reporting until they are assigned a volume/issue number  and final year of publication by the publisher. The final year of publication may be different from the year published online. For example, an article may be available online in 2015 but not assigned to a volume of a journal until 2018. 

Library staff will mark in-press publications with the status of Under Review in NURO and accept them for the Research Publications Collection once they have been fully published with all bibliographic details (providing they meet all other criteria).

Publications in press can be entered into NURO so they appear on your profile, but are not assessed/classified until they are formally published with the above data.

My conference paper will be published as a journal article/book chapter. Can both be counted?

The HERDC Specifications state that research can only be reported once, regardless of being published in multiple formats. Publications that have been substantially revised or report substantial original research may be eligible. You may be asked to provide further information to the Library and/or the publication may be referred to the Review Panel.

Can I include my conference paper/presentation if it is unpublished?

Unpublished presentations/abstracts can be entered into NURO as publication type 'Other'. They will display on your online research profile but are not included in any internal calculations/reporting.

Conference papers must be fully published and available beyond the duration of the conference and generally to a broader audience than the conference participants. Conference proceedings may be available in different formats including CD-Roms, USB drives, book or book chapter, published in a special issue of a journal, or available online.


My publication lists the previous year as the date of publication, yet it did not become available until this year. Can it be included?

Verification material held must be able to demonstrate that the publication, although containing a 2018 publication date, was not published until after 30 June 2019. A letter from the publisher will be considered sufficient verification material to support the claim. See Key Eligibility Criteria on Year of Publication for more information.

Only those publications which were published after 30 June 2019 and contain a 2018 publication date may be included under this provision.

I have a publication dated earlier than 2018. Can I still enter it into NURO?

Yes, however it will not be assessed/classified as part of the annual Research Publications Collection. It may count for future Excellence in Research (ERA) assessments.

I don't agree with the category assigned to my publication. What can I do?

Sometimes a publication will be not be classified as expected, this is usually due to insufficient verification evidence or lack of affiliation with UON within the publication by-line.

You can appeal a publication category within NURO providing you appeal within the current collection year before the 30 June. The Research Librarian will review your publication and it may then be referred to the Academic Review Panel, chaired by the DVC Research and Innovation. The Panel meets annually (usually May). You may be asked to submit further information or verification evidence to support your claim for an A1, B1, C1 or E1 publication.


I have co-authored a publication with several others. Do we each need to submit details?

It is not necessary to report a publication more than once. Please ensure you add your UON co-authors when entering manual records for publications in NURO

What is acceptable evidence of peer review for a conference paper?

Acceptable evidence includes:

- An explicit statement on the conference website or within the conference proceedings, showing that the paper in full (i.e. not just the abstract of the paper) has been subject to an independent peer review process.

- A statement or acknowledgement from the conference proceedings editor which shows that contributions are peer reviewed.

- Copies of peer reviewer's assessment for a paper are also acceptable.


What is acceptable evidence of peer review for a journal article?

Acceptable evidence includes:

  • the journal is listed on the ARC's latest ERA journal list
  • the journal is listed in Clarivate Analytics Master Journal List
  • the journal is classified as ‘refereed’ in the Ulrich’s Knowledgebase
  • there is a statement in the journal which shows that contributions are peer reviewed
  • is a statement or acknowledgement from the journal editor which shows that contributions are peer reviewed
  • a copy of a reviewer’s assessment relating to the article.

Please note: Library staff can usually determine if a journal is peer reviewed. The Publications team may request further evidence (such as copies of peer review assessments) when all other sources have been consulted and the evidence was not available.


How is national and international significance determined for conference publications?

Indicators of significance can often be found in the proceedings introduction, on the conference website (About pages, Who Should Attend). Other indicators include:

-Inclusion/indexed in a commercial scholarly database (e.g. IEEE)
-How long the conference has been in existence
-Reputation of invited/keynote speakers
 

Research Publications Collection Process and Supplying Evidence to the Library

Why do I need to provide so much information to the Library?

The Library is required to verify each publication against the criteria specified by the government and retain evidence demonstrating how the criteria is met. Some information is not easily obtainable by the Library (such as conference proceedings issued to conference attendees).

Why is it taking so long for my publication to be assessed?

Library staff endeavour to process publications in a timely manner. However, there are periods of peak demand where delays do occur. If you require your publications to be assessed as a priority, please contact the Library as soon as possible and we will work with you to ensure your publications are assessed.

What if I can't find the material I need to supply to the Library?

Library staff will attempt to source all required material using existing subscriptions to scholarly publications and compilations such as online journals and journal databases. The Library will also utilise Interlibrary Services to source publications where the Library does not subscribe to the journal. 

Non-Affiliated Research Outputs

How do my publications for my entire publishing career get loaded into my publications listing?

In NURO, you can adjust your search settings to add details of previous institutions. NURO will search across key databases including Web of Science, Scopus and PubMed and retrieve publications matching against your search settings. You can manually enter any publications not found. NURO allows you to upload publications from EndNote or Bibtex. New researchers should contact the Research Performance team to discuss upload or entry of publications associated with previous institutions.

Researcher Profiles

Your researcher profile is an individual, publicly accessible internet profile on the University's website that provides a user friendly and efficient way of showcasing your work. It is designed to highlight areas of expertise including research, teaching / mentoring / leadership and administrative. The publications section of your profile is updated from the NURO system.

Read more about how to create your researcher profile

ERA

Can I apply Field of Research codes and Socio-Economic Objectives for each output I report?

You can add FORs and SEOs to each publication in NURO. Go to Elements > Publications > click on a publication title and locate the Labels section > Click Labels > Click the + symbol located next to Fields of Research

Fields of Research

Fields of Research codes are used to assign a specific area of research focus to individual research outputs and may be used for future Excellence in Research Australia assessments.

You can nominate up to 3 six digit FOR codes for each publication/research output and assign a weighting for each FOR code adding up to 100.
e.g. 110317 - 30% 110399 - 40% 111712 - 30%

- See University of Newcastle ERA page - FOR Codes

Socio-Economic Objectives

The ANZSRC SEO classification allows R&D activity in Australia and New Zealand to be categorised according to the intended purpose or outcome of the research rather than the processes or techniques used in order to achieve this objective. The purpose categories include processes, products, health, education and other social and environmental aspects in Australia and NewZealand that R&D activity aims to improve.

- More information available at the Australian Research Council

You can nominate up to 3 six digit SEO codes for each publication/research output and assign a weighting for each SEO code adding up to 100.
e.g. 740101 50%, 749903 50%

- View SEO Codes

Publication Types and Other Research Outputs

  • What other types of publications/research outputs can I report?

NURO accepts the following publication types:

  • Creative work
  • Design
  • Figure
  • Fileset
  • Media
  • Patent
  • Presentation
  • Report
  • Review
  • Software/code

Note that from 2016 onwards, only A1 Research Monographs, B1 Research Chapters, C1 Research Articles, E1 Research Conference Papers and J1 Major Creative Works will be assessed and classified. 

*Australian Government Department of Education and Training. (2015) 2015 HERDC Specifications for the collection of 2014 data Most current document containing eligibility criteria for publications. 

Questions?

Help using NURO

Contact your Senior Research Librarian

Research Publications Collection

Email: publications@newcastle.edu.au

NURO Reporting Help

Email: Research Performance and Systems Support

Excellence in Research Australia (ERA)

- ERA FAQ

- ERA Contacts