University of Newcastle Library guides

Rare books and special collections:  Addenda

A listing of the rare book and other special collections held in the Auchmuty Library.

Special Collections : Light

The Reta Light Australian Poetry Collection

Addenda to Reta Light Australian Poetry Collection

ADAMSON, Bartlett
These Beautiful Women by Bartlett Adamson … Decorations by Roy Hodgkinson.
Sydney : Sydneysider Company, 1932.
8vo, 51pp and advertisement. Illustrated title page and illustrations opposite each poem. Paper covers.

ASTON, Tilly
Singable Songs by Tilly Aston …
Melbourne : Robertson & Mullens Ltd., 1924
8vo, 31pp. Paper covers.

BAYLEBRIDGE, William
Life’s Testament. Songs from the Hill of the Seven Echoes by W.B.
[n.p.], Privately Printed, [1914].
8vo, 40pp. Paper covers.

BAYLEBRIDGE, William
Moreton Miles by William Blocksidge [William Baylebridge].
[n.p.] Privately Printed, [1910].
8vo, 96pp. Paper covers.

BAYLEBRIDGE, William
The New Life : A National Tract, [By William Blocksidge].
[n.p.], A Private Imprint … [1910].
8vo, 112pp. Paper covers.

BAYLEBRIDGE, William
A Northern Trail by William Blocksidge [William Baylebridge].
[n.p.] : Privately Printed, [1910].
8vo, 80pp. Paper covers.
Inscribed ? Blocksidge.

BAYLEBRIDGE, William
Selected Poems by William Blocksidge [William Baylebridge]
Brisbane : Gordon and Gotch (Queensland) Limited, 1919.
8vo, 165pp. Paper covers.

BAYLEBRIDGE, William
Seven Tales by William Blocksidge [William Baylebridge].
[London?] : Privately printed, [1916?].
8vo, [i], 123pp. Paper covers.

BAYLEBRIDGE, William
Songs o’ the South by William Blocksidge [William Baylebridge].
London : Watts & Co., 1908.
8vo, vi, 88pp. Paper covers.
Presentation copy inscribed "May Blocksidge from her brother London 20/8 /’08."

BAYLEBRIDGE, William
Southern Songs by William Blocksidge [William Baylebridge].
[Sydney?] Privately printed, [1910].
8vo, 48pp. Paper covers.

BAYLEBRIDGE, William
A Wreath. By W. B. [i.e. William Blocksidge].
[London?] ; Privately printed, [1916].
8vo, 11pp. Paper covers.

BERRY, Eliza
Australian explorers (from 1818 to 1876) in rhyme. By Eliza Berry …
Second edition (with map showing explorers’ routes).
Brisbane : Gordon and Gotch, 1893.
8vo, [ii], 39pp. Map. Bound in original cloth.

BRERETON, John Le Gay
Beyond : and other poems. By John Le Gay Brereton, M.D. …
Sydney : Turner and Henderson, 1886.
8vo, 98pp. Bound in original cloth.

BRERETON, John Le Gay
The Goal of Time : a poem. By John Le Gay Brereton.
Melbourne : George Robertson, 1883.
8vo, 56pp. Bound in original cloth.

BRERETON, John Le Gay
Landlopers : the tale of a drifting travel, and the quest of pardon and peace ; written by J. Le Gay Brereton.
Sydney : William Brooks & Co., [1899].
8vo, 177pp. Illustrated. Bound in original cloth.

With Brereton’s bookplate.
Newscuttings reporting his death are pasted in.

BRERETON, John Le Gay
Sweetheart mine : lyrics of love and friendship by J. Le Gay Brereton.
Sydney : Angus and Robertson, 1897.
8vo, 38pp and advertisement.
Dedication verse signed by Brereton on title page.
Inscribed Kenneth Binns 1904.

CARMICHAEL, Jennings
Poems by Jennings Carmichael (Mrs Francis Mullis).
London : Longmans, Green and Co., 1895.
8vo, xii, 212pp.

CASSIDY, R. J.
The Gipsy Road. By R. J. Cassidy.
Sydney : The Judd Publishing Co., 1919.
8vo, 96pp. Bound in original cloth.
Presentation copy inscribed by the author with 8 line holograph verse inserted.

CONROY, Charles
"Australia" by Charles Conroy.
Burwood : "Australian Courier" Print, [1910?].
8vo, 48pp. Paper covers.

DYSON, Will
Poems : in memory of a wife [by] W. D. [i.e. Will Dyson].
London : Cecil Palmer, 1919.
8vo, 39pp. Decorated title page. Decorated paper covered boards.
Has photo of Ruby Lind pasted in with typed words "In Memory of Ruby Lind 1887-1919."

ELLARD, Annie B
Australian heart songs and sonnets by Annie B. Ellard.
Sydney : Marchant & Co. Ltd., 1909.
8vo, xi, 208pp. Bound in original cloth.

EVANS, G. Essex
The Repentance of Magdalene Despar and other poems by G. Essex Evans.
London : Sampson Low, Marston, Searle & Rivington, 1891.
8vo, 150pp and advertisements. Bound in original cloth.
Presentation copy inscribed "Mrs M. E. Minns with the author’s compliments 2nd July 1892"

FURPHY, Joseph
The Poems of Joseph Furphy [Tom Collins, author of "Such is Life"]. Collected and Edited by K. B. (Kate Baker). Preface by Bernard O’Dowd.
Melbourne : Lothian Book Publishing Co. Pty. Ltd., 1916.
8vo, 56pp. Frontispiece portrait of Furphy and other illustrations. Paper covered board.
Presentation copy with letter from Kate Baker tipped in.

GARDNER, Ruby
Poems by Ruby Gardner.
Sydney : Websdale, Shoesmith Limited, 1909.
8vo, viii, 124pp. Frontispiece portrait. Bound in original cloth.
Published posthumously. Gardner died 13th June, 1908.

KENDALL, Henry
Orara : an illustrated poem by Henry Kendall.
Melbourne : Art Union of Victoria, Sands and McDougall, lithographers, 1881.
Folio, 13 full page plates. Bound in original cloth.
Engravings by Ashton, Richardson, Curtis etc.

KNIBBS, George Handley
Voices of the North Book I and Echoes of Hellas Book II. By George Handley Knibbs.
London : Alston Rivers, Ltd., 1913.
8vo, xi, 291pp. Bound in original cloth.
Presentation copy from the author to Mrs E. B. A’Beckett.

MACDONALD, Annie
At the Sign of the Southern Cross [by] Annie MacDonald. With Illustrations by Margaret Baskerville and C. Douglas Richardson.
Melbourne : George Robertson and Company; [1911].
8vo, 147pp, frontispiece portrait of Annie Macdonald and child. Bound in original cloth.

MACDONALD, Louisa
A Mask designed by L. M. (under whose direction the verses were composed by her humble and obedient servants C. B. and J. L. G. B.)
Sydney : [s.n.], 1913.
8vo, 25pp. Paper wrappers.
Presented in celebration of the 21st year of the Women’s College.
Verses composed by Christopher Brennan and John Le Gay Brereton.
Inscribed E.M. Tildesley.

MATHEW, John
Australian Echoes including the Corroboree and other poems by John Mathew. …
London and Melbourne : Melville and Mullen, 1902.
8vo, viii, 142pp. Bound in original cloth.

MONA MARIE
The Casket of Gems, by Mona Marie.
Ballarat : Luplau & Henwood, 1882.
8vo, x, 191pp. Bound in original cloth.
Inscribed M. Breecher 14/9/85.

O’DOWD, Bernard
The Silent Land and other verses by Bernard O’Dowd.
Melbourne : T.C. Lothian, 1909.
8vo, 44pp and advertisements. Paper covered boards.
|1st edition, second impression.

Old Saltbush
The Death of Oswald, and other poems, songs, and ballads. By Old Saltbush.
Sydney : Turner and Henderson, 1887.
8vo, 90pp. Paper covers.

RICHARDSON, Robert
Willow and Wattle. Poems. By Robert Richardson.
Edinburgh : John Grant, 1893.
8vo, viii, 87pp. Title page printed in red and black letter. Paper covered boards.
Presentation copy inscribed "From the Author With Kindest regards and the memory of a long friendship. Navorna. Armidale. April xx 1894.

SHERARD, Charles Allan
A Daughter of the South and other poems by Charles Allan Sherard.
London : Griffith Farran Okeden & Welsh, 1889.
8vo, viii, 99pp. Paper covered boards.

SPENCER, Thomas E.
Budgeree Ballads by Thos. E. Spencer … With eight full-page illustrations by J.F. Scott.
Sydney : N.S.W. Bookstall Co., 1908.
8vo, 176pp. and advertisements. 8 illustrations. Rebound original wrapper laid down.
Presentation copy inscribed "To R. Ferguson … With the best of good wishes from his sincere friend the Author, Thos. E. Spencer. Sydney NS.W. 23/1/09. Tipped in arc 2 pp. of typewritten notes by T.W. Spencer, the author’s son, to A.G. Stephens.

STENZ, W. F.
Echoes from the Bush by W.F. Stenz.
Sydney : Geo. Murray, 1897.
8vo, 80pp. Bound in original cloth with decorated front cover.
Presentation copy inscribed To Fred C. Biggens From W. Fred Stenz.
With bookplate of D. George Mackaness.

STEPHENS, John Brunton
The Godolphin Arabian : the story of a horse. Manipulated from the French prose tale of Eugene Sue. By J. Brunton Stephens.
Brisbane : Watson, Ferguson & Co., 1894.
8vo, [ii], 141pp. Bound in original paper covered boards with illustrations.

STEWART, Hubert
Poems and Plays. [By] Hubert Stewart.
Melbourne : McCarron Bird & Co., 1894.
8vo, viii, 214pp. Bound in original cloth.
Presentation copy inscribed from the author to J. Maurice Carroll.

STRONG, Archibald T.
Sonnets of the Empire before and during The Great War by Archibald T. Strong.
London : Macmillan & Co., Limited, 1915.
8vo, xv, 69pp. Bound in original cloth. Presentation copy inscribed "J.E. Davidson with the author’s kindest regards Nov. 1915."

SUPPLE, Gerard Henry
Dampier’s Dream : an Australasian foreshadowing and some ballads by Gerard Henry Supple.
Melbourne : George Robertson, 1892.
8vo, [i], 85pp. Bound in original cloth with gilt edges.

A TASMANIAN
A New Year’s Gift. Miscellaneous Poems, by A Tasmanian.
Hobart Town : J. Walch and Sons, 1865.
8vo, 50pp. Bound in original cloth with title plate "Poems by A Tasmanian" affixed to front cover.

TAYLOR, Charles F.
Summer Dreamings : A Poem. By Charles F. Taylor.
Melbourne : Ferguson & Moore, 1872.
8vo, 62pp. Bound in original cloth.

TAYLOR, Charles F.
Summer Dreamings : A Poem. By Charles F. Taylor.
Melbourne : Ferguson & Moore, 1872.
8vo, 62pp. Bound in original cloth.

TUCKER, John Owen
The Golden Spring; A Tale of Tasmania : and other poems. By John Owen Tucker.
Melbourne : H. Tolman Dwight, Bookseller and Publisher, 1865.
8vo, 112pp. Bound in original cloth.

TUCKER, John Owen
The Mute; a poem of Victoria. And other poems. By John Owen Tucker …
Melbourne : H.T. Dwight, 1870.
8vo, [ii] 116pp. Bound in original cloth.
Presentation copy. Inscribed "John Tucker with his Compliments to Mrs Ellis."

Violet Verses [compiled by E.S. Abbott] With foreword by Henry Lawson.
[Adelaide : W.K. Thomas & Co Printers, 1917?].
8vo, 27pp. Paper covers.
Includes "Seeds of pioneers by C. J. Dennis,

WALCH, Garnet
A Little Tin Plate and other verses by Garnet Walch …
Melbourne : George Robertson, 1881.
8vo, 56pp. and advertisements. Paper cover boards with illustration pasted on cover.

WILSON, Anne
Themes and Variations by Mrs James Glenny Wilson (Austral) Rangitikei, New Zealand.
London : Griffith Farran Okeden & Welsh, 1889.
8vo, viii, 88pp. Bound in original cloth.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354