University of Newcastle Library guides

Rare books and special collections:  Theses

A listing of the rare book and other special collections held in the Auchmuty Library.

Special collections : Joyce

The James Joyce Collection

Theses


BARTHOLEMY, Mary Elizabeth
Begetting modernism : the history of love in the novels of Gustave Flaubert and James Joyce.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1991.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – University of California, Irvine, 1991.


BLOOMER, Jennifer Allyn
Towards an architecture of desire : the (s)crypt of Joyce and Piranesi.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1989.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – Georgia Institute of Technology, 1989.



BOOKER, Marvin Keith
Works in progress : history, subjectivity, and textuality in the fiction of James Joyce.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1990.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – University of Florida, 1990.


BRAY, Paul Cyrus
The influence of theories of history on the style of James Joyce's "Finnegans Wake".
Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1986.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – City University of New York, 1986.



BROWN, Susan Sutliff
The geometry of James Joyce's "Ulysses" : from Pythagoras to Poincare : Joyce's use of geometry for structure, metaphor, and theme.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1987.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – University of South Florida, 1987.



BUCKWALD, Craig Martin
Transforming vision : the authority of romantic nature in the fiction of James Joyce.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1988.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – University of California, 1988.



CASTLE, Gregory R.
Retrospective arrangements : history, narrative and the critique of culture in James Joyce's A portrait of the artist as a young man and Ulysses.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1990.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – University of California, Los Angeles, 1990.



DIX, Douglas Shields
The Text as war machine : writing to destroy.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1988.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – University of Washington, 1988.



DUSZENKO, Andrzej
The Joyce of science : new physics in "Finnegans Wake".
Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1989.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – Southern Illinois University, 1989.



FERRIS, Kathleen Richard
James Joyce : wandering Jew.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1989.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – Emory University, 1989.



HIGGINSON, Fred Hall
James Joyce's revision of Finnegan Wake : a study of the publishers versions.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – University of Minnesota, 1953.



LITZ, Arthur Walton
The Evolution of James Joyce's style and technique from 1918 to 1932.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – Oxford University, Merton College, 195?.


LUNN, Veronica Gai
The Influence of Platonic mystical thought on Ulysses and Finnegans Wake, with particular reference to Bruno and Vico [manuscript].
Thesis (Ph.D.) – University of Newcastle, 1993.



PATEY, Nicholas
The Myth of the impersonal author in literary modernism, James Joyce and T.S. Eliot [manuscript].
1991.
Thesis (M.A.) – University of Newcastle, 1991.


RYR, Robert S.
A Study of James Joyce's A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – Columbia University, 1956.



RAFTERY, Ruth Ann Mary
James Joyce's Ulysses : Celtic countersign to the Odyssey.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1983.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – University of Southern California, 1983.



SARTILIOT, Claudette Eva
Citation and modernity.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1986.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – University of California, Irvine, 1986.



SUTLIFF, Richard Allan
Narrative perspective and voice in modern fiction [microform] : some representative examples.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1983.
Thesis (Ph.D.) – University of Massachusetts, 1983.


TURNER, Huldah, M.
Edouard Dujardin, James Joyce, and the "interior monologue", from a M.A. thesis submitted to Sydney University in 1943-4 [manuscript].
1944.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354