University of Newcastle Library guides

Rare books and special collections:  Texts

A listing of the rare book and other special collections held in the Auchmuty Library.

Special Collections : Joyce

The James Joyce Collection

Texts

Dubliners


The Dead : complete, authoritative text with biographical and historical contexts, critical… / edited by Daniel R. Schwarz. Bedford Books/St. Martins, 1994. (Case studies in contemporary criticism)


Dubliners / James Joyce ; with fifteen drawings by Robin Jacques. London : Cape, 1954.


Dubliners. Harmondsworth : Penguin Books in association with Cape, 1956.


Dubliners / James Joyce ; the corrected text with an explanatory note by R. Scholes and fifteen drawings by Robin Jacques. London : Cape, 1967.


Dubliners / James Joyce ; the corrected text with an explanatory note by Robert Scholes and fifteen drawing[s] by Robin Jacques. St. Albans : Granada, 1977. This corrected text originally published : London : Cape, 1967.


Dubliners / James Joyce ; the corrected text with an explanatory note by Robert Scholes and fifteen drawing[s] by Robin Jacques. London : Triad Grafton, 1977. This corrected text originally published : London : Cape, 1967.


Dubliners / James Joyce ; presentation et annotations par Lise Bloch et Francoise Thomas-Garnier. Paris : Librairie Generale Francaise, 1991. (Livre de poche ; 8642) Presentation and notes in French


Dubliners / James Joyce ; edited by Hans Walter Gabler with Walter Hettche. New York : Garland Pub., 1993.


James Joyce's Dubliners / [edited by] John Wyse Jackson and Bernard McGinley. Annotated ed. London : Sinclair-Stevenson, 1993.

top


Exiles


Exiles : a play / with an essay on the play by Francis Fergusson. Norfolk, Conn. : New Directions, 1945. (New classics series)


Exiles : a play in three acts with the author's own notes and an introduction by Padraic Colum. London : Cape, 1952.

top


Finnegans wake


Continuation of Work in Progress. Published in transition with Joyce's original notes from manuscript held at Yale University Library.


James Joyce's scribbledehobble : the UR-workbook for Finnegans Wake / edited with notes by Thomas E. Connolly. Buffalo, N.Y. : North West University Press, 1960.


Finnegans Wake [microfilm]. From original manuscripts.


Finnegans Wake : fragments adaptés par A. Du Bouchet ; introduction de Michel Butor : suivis de Anna Livia Plurabelle. [Paris] : Gallimard, 1962. [Text in French]


A Shorter "Finnegans Wake" / edited by Anthony Burgess. London : Faber, 1966.


James Joyce's The Index manuscript : Finnegans Wake holograph workbook VI.B.46 / transcribed, annotated and with an introduction by Danis Rose. Colchester, Essex : A Newslitter Press, 1978.


Finnegans Wake [sound recording] / by James Joyce ; read by Patrick Healy. [Dublin] : Rennicks Auriton Publishing in association with the Irish Museum of Modern Art, 1992. Limited ed. of 1000 numbered copies


Haveth Childers everywhere / by James Joyce. Norwood : Norwood Editions, 1977.


A fragment of {the author's} Work in Progress. Reprint of the 1930 ed. published by Ducros et Colas.


Our exagmination round his factification for incamination of Work in Progress / by S. Beckett and others ; with letters of protest by G.V.L. Slingsby and V. Dixon. London : Faber and Faber, 1972.


An exagmination of James Joyce ; analyses of the "Work in Progress" / by Samuel Beckett [and others]. New York : Haskell House Publishers, 1974.

top


A portrait of the artist as a young man


A Portrait of the artist as a young man. New ed. London : Cape, 1942.


A Portrait of the artist as a young man. London : Cape, 1952.


A Portrait of the artist as a young man. Harmondsworth : Penguin Books, 1960.


A Portrait of the artist as a young man / James Joyce ; with six drawings by Robin Jacques. St. Albans : Triad, 1977.


A Portrait of the artist as a young man / James Joyce ; with six drawings by Robin Jacques. London : Cape, 1968.


A Portrait of the artist as a young man / James Joyce ; edited with an introduction and notes by Seamus Deane. London : Penguin, 1992.


A Portrait of the artist as a young man / James Joyce ; edited by Hans Walter Gabler with Walter Hettche. New York : Garland Pub., 1993.


A Portrait of the artist as a young man : complete, authoritative text with biographical and historical contexts, critical history, and essays from five contemporary critical perspectives / James Joyce ; edited by R.B. Kershner. Boston : Bedford Books of St. Martin's Press, 1993. (Case studies in contemporary criticism)

top


Stephen Hero


Stephen Hero : part of the first draft of A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man / by James Joyce ; edited with an introduction by Theodore Spencer. Revised edition with additional material / and a foreword by John J. Slocum and Herbert Cahoon. London : Cape, 1956.


Stephen Hero : part of the first draft of A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man / edited by Theodore Spencer ; revised material by J.J. Slocum. London : Cape, 1960.


Ulysses


Hades : ein Kapitel aus dem Ulysses ; Englisch-Deutsch / James Joyce ; in der Ubersetzung von Hans Wollschlager ; herausgegeben und ausfuhrlich erklart von Fritz Senn. Mainz : Dieterich'sche Verlagsbuchhandlung, 1992. (Excerpta classica ; Bd. 9)


Ulysses / James Joyce. London : Bodley Head, 1952.


Ulysses / James Joyce. Paris : Shakespeare & Co., 1926. [8th printing entirely reset]


Ulysses / James Joyce ; with a foreword by Morris L. Ernst and the decision of the United States District Court rendered by Judge John M. Woolsey. New ed., corrected and reset. New York : Modern Library, 1961.


Ulysses / James Joyce ; with Ulysses : a short history / by Richard Ellmann. [New ed. repr.] Harmondsworth : Penguin, 1969. (Penguin modern classics ; 3000)


James Joyce : Ulysses / a facsimile of the manuscript, with a critical introduction by H. Levin ; and a bibliographical preface by C. Driver. New York : Octagon Books in association with the Philip H. & A.S.W. Rosenbach Foundation, Philadelphia, 1975. 3 vols. Vol. 1: Facsimile of manuscript Vol. 2: Facsimile of manuscript Vol. 3: The manuscript and the first printings compared


Ulysses / James Joyce ; a critical and synoptic ed. / prepared by Hans Walter Gabler with Wolfhard Steppe and Claus Melchior. New York : Garland Pub., 1984. 3 vols.


Ulysses / James Joyce ; the corrected text edited by Hans Walter Gabler with Wolfhard Steppe and Claus Melchior ; with a new preface by Richard Ellmann. Harmondsworth : Penguin in association with Bodley Head, 1986. (Penguin modern classics)


Ulysses / James Joyce ; the corrected text edited by Hans Walter Gabler with Wolfhard Steppe and Claus Melchior ; and with a new preface by Richard Ellmann. Student's ed. Harmondsworth : Penguin Books in association with Bodley Head, 1986.


The Lost notebook : new evidence on the genesis of Ulysses / James Joyce ; edited by Danis Rose & John O'Hanlon ; foreword by Hans Walter Gabler. Edinburgh : Split Pea Press, 1989.


Penelope : the last chapter of "Ulysses" / James Joyce ; herausgegeben von Harald Beck, Nachwort von Hans Walter Gabler. Stuttgart : Philipp Reclam jun., 1989. (Universal-Bibliothek ; Nr. 9243) Vocabulary in English and German


Ulysses : the corrected text / James Joyce ; edited by Hans Walter Gabler with Wolfhard Steppe and Claus Melchior. Harmondsworth : Penguin, 1989. (Penguin modern classics)


Ulysses / James Joyce. Annotated students' ed., with an introduction and notes by Declan Kiberd. Harmondsworth : Penguin, 1992. (Penguin twentieth-century classics)

top

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354