University of Newcastle Library guides

Rare books and special collections:  Selections

A listing of the rare book and other special collections held in the Auchmuty Library.

Special collections : Joyce

The James Joyce Collection

Selections

Introducing James Joyce : a selection of Joyce's prose
by T.S. Eliot with introductory note. London : Faber, 1948.


The Critical writings of James Joyce
edited by E. Mason and R. Ellmann. London : Faber, 1959.


The Essential James Joyce
with an introduction and notes by Harry Levin. Harmondsworth : Penguin in association with Jonathan Cape, 1963.


The Essential James Joyce
with an introduction and notes by Harry Levin. London : Cape, 1948.


The Essential James Joyce
[edited] with an introduction and notes by Harry Levin. St. Albans : Triad/Panther, 1977.


Joycechoice : the poems in verse and prose of James Joyce
edited by Norman Jeffares and Brendan Kennelly. London : Kylie Cathie, 1992.


Pastimes of James Joyce.
New York : Joyce Memorial Fund Committee, 1941.

Comprises facsimile of original autograph poem beginning "Come all you lairds and ladies" and facsimile of Joyce's transcript of Thomas Moore's "At the mid hour of night".
Library holds No. 618 of a 700 copy edition.


Poems and shorter writings : including Epiphanies, Giacomo Joyce and A Portrait of the Artist / James Joyce
edited by Richard Ellmann, A. Walton Litz and John Whittier-Ferguson. London : Faber, 1991.


The Portable James Joyce
with an introduction & notes by Harry Levin. New York : The Viking Press, 1947.

Dubliners – Exiles – Portrait of an Artist as a Young Man – Collected Poems – Selections from Ulysses – Selections from Finnegans Wake


MIILUMAKI, RISTO
Joyce-Tick : Finnish readings of Joyce's major works. Turku : Turun Yliopisto, 1991.


MOERAN, E.J.
Seven poems by James Joyce [music] / set to music by E.J. Moeran.

Oxford : Oxford University Press Music Dept., 1930. (Oxford solo songs)

Strings in the earth and air – The merry green wood – Bright cap – The pleasant valley – Donny Carney – Rain has fall – Now, O now, in this brown land


NATIONAL LIBRARY OF IRELAND
The James Joyce-Paul Leon papers in the National Library of Ireland : a catalogue / compiled by Catherine Fahy. [Dublin] : The Library, 1992.


QUINN, Edward
James Joyce's Dublin / photographs by Edward Quinn ; with selected writings from Joyce's works. London : Secker & Warburg, 1974.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354