University of Newcastle Library guides

Rare books and special collections:  Audio visual

A listing of the rare book and other special collections held in the Auchmuty Library.

Special Collections : Joyce

The James Joyce Collection

Audio visual


The Dead [videorecording] / produced by Wieland Scholz-Keil and Chris Sievernich ; directed by John Huston.
London : Vestron Video International, 1987.

1 Videocassette (VHS) (80 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in. Based on the novel by James Joyce. First released : Zenith Productions/Liffy Films, 1987. Anjelica Huston, Donal McCann

Christmas time in Dublin at the turn of the century, and a family is celebrating Twelfth Night. But things may not be as they seem, as a wife reveals a dark but tender secret to her husband.


Dubliners [sound recording].
Canberra : Tutortapes, 1974.

(Tutortapes audio cassette learning program)


Finnegans Wake [sound recording] / read by Cyril Cusack.
(Caedmon ; TC1086)


Finnegans Wake [sound recording] / by James Joyce ; read by Patrick Healy.
[Dublin] : Rennicks Auriton Publishing in association with the Irish Museum of Modern Art, 1992.
17 sound discs


GREGOR, Ian
Approach to the twentieth century novel [sound recording] / Ian Gregor, Mark Kinkead-Weekes.
London : Sussex Tapes, 1971.
1 sound cassette (60 mins.) : mono. + notes ; in box 22 cm


HENRY, Margaret
A Question of James Joyce [sound recording].
London : Audio Arts, 1974.
(Audio Arts Magazine ; vol. 1, no. 3)


James Joyce reading Ulysses and Finnegans Wake ; and, Pomes Penyeach, Chamber music, Ecce puer / read by Cyril Cusack [sound recording].
New York : Caedmon, 1971, c1988.
1 sound cassette (47 mins.) : 1 7/8 ips These readings include the Aeolus episode from Ulysses, the Anna Livia Plurabelle section from Finnegans Wake, and selections from Joyce's Pomes Penyeach, Chamber Music and Ecce puer.


PALMER, G. Molyneux

James Joyce's Chamber music : the lost song settings / [musical settings by G. Molyneux Palmer ; foreword by Harry Levin ; musical foreword by Robert White] ; eidted and with an introduction by Myra Teicher Russel.
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 1993.
Voice and piano settings for 32 of the 36 poems that comprise Joyce's Chamber music. "Music transcribed from manuscripts in the Croessmann Collection of James Joyce, Special Collections, Morris Library, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale" – T.p. verso. Accompanied by 1 sound cassette (analog) containing a performance of the songs by Robert White, tenor, and Samuel Sanders, piano.


A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man [sound recording] / read by Cyril Cusack.
(Caedmon ; TC1110)


A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man [videorecording] / from the novel by James Joyce.
London : Ulysses Film Production ; The Home Cinema Group [distributor], 1977.
Director, T.P. McKenna, John Gielgud
Bosco Hogan, T.P. McKenna, John Gielgud


Ulysses [videorecording].
Home Cinema Group.
Joseph Strick, Director
Milo O'Shea and Barbara Jefford

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354