University of Newcastle Library guides

Rare books and special collections:  First editions

A listing of the rare book and other special collections held in the Auchmuty Library.

Special Collections : Joyce

The James Joyce Collection

First Editions

Anna Livia Plurabelle
Preface by Padraic Colum.
New York : Crosby Gaige, 1928.
First edition are of 850 copies signed by Joyce. Brown buckram binding, decorated in gilt, others untrimmed. Our copy no. 329. Slocum & Cahoon, A32


Dubliners.
New York : Huebsch, 1916.
First American edition ; English sheets. Slocum & Cahoon, A9


Exiles : a play in three acts.
London : Grant Richards, 1918.
First edition original cloth, printed label on back strip and front cover, original board sides, corners and back strip. Slocum & Cahoon, A14


Finnegans Wake.
London : Faber, 1939.
Slocum & Cahoon, A47


Haveth Childers everywhere : fragment from Work in Progress.
Paris : Henry Babou and Jack Kahane, 1930.
First edition printed on linen vidalon, untrimmed bound in original glassine covered wrappers. Our copy 354 of 600.
Slocum & Cahoon, A41


Haveth Childers everywhere : a fragment from Work in Progress.
London : Faber & Faber, 1931.
Slocum & Cahoon, A42


The Mime of Mick Nick and the Maggies : a fragment from Work in Progress.
The Hague : The Servire Press, 1934.
First edition printed on the presses of G.J. Thieme at Nymegan in one thousand copies in old antique Dutch numbered 1-1000. Colour print initial letter tool piece and cover design by Lucia Joyce. Title page printed in black and red. Cover with white wrappers over card, covers in blue and with large design on front, untrimmed. Our copy no. 616. Slocum & Cahoon, A43


Pomes Penyeach.
Paris : Shakespeare and Company, 1927.
First edition "of these Pomes thirteen copies have been printed on Dutch handmade paper numbered 1-13". Original pale green boards printed in dark green. Slocum & Cahoon, A24


A Portrait of the artist as a young man.
New York : Huebsch, 1916.
First edition in the original blue cloth. Slocum & Cahoon, A11


Tales told of Shem and Shaun : three fragments from Work in Progress ; preface by C.K. Ogden.
Paris : Black Sun Press, 1929.
First edition printed in black and red on Holland Van Gelder Zonen paper, plate by Brancusi. Original printed white wrappers, back strip and front cover in white and red print, untrimmed. Our copy no. 492 of 650. Slocum & Cahoon, A36


Two tales of Shem and Shaun : Fragments from Work in Progress / by James Joyce.
London : Faber and Faber, 1932.
Slocum and Cahoon, A37


Ulysses.
London : Egoist Press by John Rodker Paris, 1922.
First English edition limited to 2000 copies on handmade paper. Our copy no. 1264. Slocum & Cahoon, A18


Ulysses.
Paris : Shakespeare and Company, 1924.
4th Printing ; a list of errata was worked into the plates of this printing. Only copy in an Australian library.


Ulysses.
Paris : Shakespeare and Company, 1925.
7th Printing ; original blue wrappers.


Ulysses.
Paris : Shakespeare and Company, 1928.
10th Printing ; green morocco gilt ; original blue wrappers bound in.


Ulysses.
Paris : Shakespeare and Company, 1930.
11th and final Shakespeare printing ; original blue wrappers.


Verbannte. (German Translation of Exiles)
Zürich : Rascher & Cie, 1919
First edition in German. 8vo., the errata-slip on pink paper tipped in, original green printed wrappers, uncut. The translation is by Hannah von Mettal. Published in March 1919 in an edition of 600 copies, at the expense of the author. Slocum & Cahoon D44. Donated by The American Friends of James Joyce in memory of Rosi Moses-Scheuer.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354