Greek PhilosophyRoman PhilosophyMedieval PhilosophyEarly Modern PhilosophyThe Enlightenment19th Century Philosophy20th Century PhilosophyLogic/Critical ThinkingPhilosophy of MindEpistemologyPhilosophy of SciencePhilosophy & PsychologyPhilosophy & TechnologyPhilosophy of LanguagePhilosophy of TimePhilosophy of ReligionSelf & Personal IdentitySocial & Political PhilosophyApplied EthicsMoral Philosophy
This is the "Philosophy and Film Database" page of the "Philosophy and Film Database" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy and Film Database  

Guide to philosophy relevant films.
Last Updated: Jul 6, 2011 URL: http://libguides.newcastle.edu.au/philosophyandfilmdatabase Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Philosophy and Film Database Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

The Philosophy and Film Database

 

The Philosophy and Film Database contains details of around 500 films which can be used to enhance philosophy teaching at all levels. In addition, a small number of entries list other available visual material, including television shows and filmed interviews

Each entry includes a PLOT SUMMARY, a summary of the subject matter covered by the film, and an indication of its philosophical relevance. For a number of films, KEY SCENES have also been identified.

The Database can be used in two ways - you can browse the entries, or you can perform keyword searches.

The entries may be browsed (click on following links) according to philosophical AREA. The areas covered are: Greek philosophy; Roman philosophy; medieval philosophy; early modern philosophy; the Enlightenment; 19th century German philosophy; 19th century British philosophy; 20th century French philosophy, 20th century German philosophy; 20th century Anglo-American philosophy; logic/critical thinking; ontology; philosophy of mathematics; philosophy of language; philosophy of time; philosophy of science; philosophy of religion; philosophy of education; philosophy of technology; philosophy and psychology; philosophy of mind; epistemology; aesthetics; feminism; social and political philosophy; the self and personal identity; applied ethics; and moral philosophy.

You can also perform keyword searches using the search box below.

 

Search the Film & Philosophy Database

Enter your search in the box below. You may search for anything in the record including areas of philosophy, directors and names of films

Loading

Contact us

Please send comments & suggestions to:

Chris Falzon
MC120, McMullin Building
School of Humanities and Social Science
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia


Email: Chris Falzon

      
     

    File Listing

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip