.

Credit: David Gregory & Debbie Marshall, Wellcome Images
Tooth plaque Scanning electron microscope image of close-up of
tooth surface, showing "corn-on-the-cob", a form of plaque. The
rod-like structures are bacteria. Scanning electron micrograph
2003
Collection: Wellcome Images
Copyrighted work available under Creative Commons by-nc-nd 2.0 UK: England
& Wales.
Contact the Library
- By phone
- Via our online ASAPInfo service
- In person at one of our libraries
- Via SMS
Ourimbah Campus
Julie Mundy-Taylor
Client Services Librarian
Room A2.53, Ourimbah Library
Phone: 02 434 84225
Email: julie.mundy-taylor@newcastle.edu.au
Library hours
Callaghan Campus
Debbie Booth - Faculty Librarian, Health
Room L338, Auchmuty Library
Phone: 02 492 15844
Email: debbie.booth@newcastle.edu.au
Library hours
Library News
Loading...
Finding Background Information
Reference books, such as dictionaries, encyclopaedias and handbooks are a useful starting point when beginning your research. Dictionaries provide definitions, and help you to understand the terminology. Encyclopaedias provide a general overview of a topic, and may also provide a list of books and journal articles for further reading.
Reference books can be located via a subject search in NEWCAT. For example, Dentistry Handbooks, Dentistry Terminology.
Printed material for Oral Health is mainly located in the Ourimbah Library on the Central Coast Campus.
Listed below are some of the major reference works for oral health available:
- Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary
- Stedman's medical dictionary for the dental professionsCentral Coast - R617.603 STED
- Dental Caries - A Medical Dictionary, Bibliography, and Annotated Research Guide to Internet References [Please note that you will need to create an EBL account]
- Concise Encyclopedia of PeriodontologyCentral Coast - R617.632003 VAND
- Stedman's Plastic Surgery/ENT/Dentistry WordsCentral Coast - R617.95014 STED 2003
- Oxford Handbook of Dental Patient Care [Books@OVID]
- Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry [Books@OVID]
- A handbook for dental hygienistsCental Coast - 617.601 COLL 1999
- Dental terminologyC Coast - Reference R617.60014 DOFK
- Concise encyclopedia of periodontologyC Coast - Reference R617.632003 VAND
- Color atlas of common oral diseasesC Coast -Q.Bk -3 Day Q617.522 LANG 2003
Your Feedback ...
ABC Health News
CDC: A Minute of Health
Loading...


Loading...
