University of Newcastle Library guides

Newcastle and Hunter District Historical Society records:  NHDHS records

Inventory of the Newcastle and Hunter District Historical Society records.

Archives : NHDHS

The Newcastle and Hunter District Historical Society records

Conduit: Mrs Mavis Ebbott

Arrived: 11th - 13th September 2000

Box No. Description of Record First date Last Date

1

Newcastle and Suburbs History Walks and Features A - F

2

Newcastle and Suburbs History Walks and Features G - Z AND Newcastle Suburbs Adamstown to Georgetown.

3

Newcastle Suburbs files Hamilton to Plattsburg

4

Newcastle Suburbs Sandgate to Wickham AND Lake Macquarie files Awaba to Warners Bay

5

Hunter Valley files Allynbrook to Raymond Terrace

6

Hunter Valley files Scone to Woodville AND
Port Stephens files AND
Subject files:
Australian Agricultural Company to City Council Mayors.

7

Subject files: Commerce to Media

8

Subject files: Port Waratah to Railways

9

Subject files: Red Cross to Trade Unions

10

Library – Aboriginal & Lake Macquarie /Hunter Valley Shelves 1-2

11

Library – Newcastle & Suburbs Shelf 3 + 4

12

Library – Women’s Home Journal + Aboriginal Reconciliation Shelf 4

13

Library – Newcastle & Suburbs + Schools/Churches Shelves 5-6

14

Library – Schools/Churches + Newcastle & Suburbs Shelves 6-7

15

Library – Business Shelf 8

16

Library – Sydney and Central Coast Shelves 9-10

17

Library – Pioneer Registers Shelf 11

18

Library – Shelf 12

19

Library – Shelf 13-14

20

Library – Shelves 14/15

21

Library – Shelves 15-16

22

Library – Shelf 16
Paper clipping books

23

Various books 19th cent. Works

24

School Magazines

Merewether Fire Brigade Account Book

Merewether Fire Brigade Duty Books

Red Cross Hamilton Branch

Exercise Book Boilermaker’s Notes

Photo/Postcards Albums

Jubilee of Congregationism in Australia 1883 Plaque

Wallsend Victory Carnival Committee Correspondence and Minute Book

Sydney Illustrated Views of Sydney

Newcastle’s 150th Anniversary

Launching Ceremony M.V. Lady Joyce Newcastle

Sketchbook of Christine Miller from the Superior Public School Newcastle, c1890

1930s

1891

1910

1939

1930s?

1941

3rd May 1980

1890

1899

1914

1940

1943

25

Assorted School and Prayer books

Centennial History of NSW 1888 2vols

Maps of Lake Macquarie and Woy Woy c1940

Cigarette Card Album of Movie Stars of the 1920s

Assorted booklets reports of the Newcastle District Historical Society 1936-1940

3 framed works including early colour engraving (copy?) of Newcastle Wallis drawing?

Commemorative Tablecloth of St John’s Parish Newcastle

Anthony Horden’s Catalogues c1890s

The Store Exercise Book

26

Various artefacts, coins, photographs, glass negatives, clay pipes, framed Lycett paintings, Prisms from one of the chandeliers at Jesmond House (donated by Mrs Hodge), Painting of St John’s Church Wollombi, NDHS Commemorative spoons.

27

Historical Society Journals – Gloucester, Cessnock and Coalfields Heritage Group.

28

Historical Society Journals – Maitland, Stockton, Singleton, Raymond Terrace, Lake Macquarie, Coastal and Hunter Region Societies

29

Historical Society Journals – Brisbane Water, Goulburn, Illawarra, Scone, Historical Brochures.

30

Cemetery Listings, Newcastle University History Club Journals, Photo albums of Mattara Processions 1960s – 1980

31

Royal Australian Historical Society Journals

1927

2000

32

Journal of the Society of Australian Genealogists

Folder of Historical Notes on Newcastle

Folder of Newspaper cuttings on historical themes

Folder containing Main Roads Pamphlets

33

Newcastle Sun Historical Records + Index 1936-1941

Six News clipping books

34

Newcastle District Historical Society - Correspondence and assorted documents folders 1963-1980; 1923; 19th century.

Aboriginal Reconciliation Documents, Brochures and Video

35

Photo Acquisition sheets showing donor and provenance

36

Photo – Newcastle Harbour 1890s, Photo – Stockton Bridge c1970s

J & A Brown & Abermain Seaham Collieries Limited Regulation Slips,

Mining Log Books from Hebburn No. 2 Colliery consisting of Stanford Main No.2 Field Book “B”; another unlabeled field book and notebook circ 1950s

Printing Blocks, Framed Works trains etc.

37

Copy of: Pageant of the Pacific Being the Maritime History of Australasia by Captain F. Rhodes 2 vols Sydney: F.J. Thwaites (Pty.) Ltd, n.d.

Papers of Francis James Morley Esq. Including The Commercial Bank of Australia Ltd Bank Book, Cheque book, Certificates of Birth, Death, Pensions 1875 – 1918

Artefacts

38

Artefact – Porcelain Jug

39

Artefact – Porcelain Basin

40 – 42

Printing Blocks

CARD INDEXES

Indexes for Newcastle and Hunter District Historical Society Journals, Photographic Collection, Map and Documents and General Information files.

PHOTOGRAPHIC COLLECTION

Four Boxes 1-180, 181-500, 501-802, 803-900.

Two BHP Photograph albums

LARGE FORMAT BOOKS

Three Registers from Greenwood’s Shoe Shop Hunter Street Newcastle [From Mrs J Stevens 8 Meredith Street New Lambton]

1901

1920?

Oversize

Pelaw Main Colliery – Account of Work Done and Wages Paid

1919

1924

LARGE ARTEFACTS

Podium

Framed Work – Fairies c.1920

Framed Work – W.Winn & Co. War Heroes 1914 -1918

c.1920

1914

1918

LARGE MAPS & PLANS, PHOTOGRAPHS, NEWSPAPERS, ETC… IN MAP CABINETS

Drawer 1

Scrapbook 1 Historical News clippings

Receipt book (Book 17)

Stanford Main No 2 Colliery Output Book

J & A Brown & Abermain Seaham Collieries Ltd Cash Statements Book No.1 Pays 12.7.1941 to 3.3.1945

Photographs:

Cardiff Railway Workshop ca1940

Junction School ca 1920

Photograph of Nurses P1204/31.28/2000

Elizabeth Burrows (nee Hare) P1194/43.15A/2000

Emily Burrows in Wedding Gown (Married Edward Booth) 1901 P1193/43.14A/2000

First Recruiting Meeting Newcastle July 16th 1915 R.G Kilgour Addressing. P0781/23.29/97

Winns Staff and Director P143/89

Winns Store Newcastle ca 1915.

Oct 1957

1953

Oct 1958

1957

Drawer 2

Framed Work – Aerial View of Newcastle showing Cathedral, St Mary’s Catholic Church, Congregational Church. Ca 1970s

Framed Work – The Newcastle and Hunter District Historical Society with Seal.

City of Newcastle – Coat of Arms

Photograph of unidentified country location.

Drawer 3

M1998/1 – 1998/50d

Drawer 4

M1999/51A – M1999/51G

M1999/52-53, M2000/55-62

Drawer 5

Large rolled maps on wooden poles M1998/43, M1998/44, M1998/46 + two others.

Large posters relating to Australian History, Founders of the Nation, Opening of Sydney Harbour Bridge 19th March 1932, Adamstown Subdivision Plans, First Fleet 1788, Flags of Australia, First Fleet Passenger Manifest and Fort Scratchely plan.

Drawer 6

Tindale Aboriginal Maps

Xerox copies of land purchase documents

Drawer 7

Newspapers and Broadsheets relating to historical features and topics. Newcastle Herald, The Truth, Newcastle Sun, Sydney Mail, Hunter Valley Herald, Varley Calendars.

Drawer 8

Fragile Newspapers e.g. Maitland Mercury, Newcastle Morning Herald, Sydney Mail

Drawer 9

Womens’ Magazines, Magazines relating to Bi-centenary, Xerox copies of Newcastle Street Maps, Newspaper Articles, ‘Bird’s Eye View’ Photographic Series of Newcastle, Certificates, Legal Documents, Clippings.

Drawer 10

Newspaper articles relating to historical subjects and Newcastle history.

Drawer 11

Newspaper clippings relating to Newcastle History, Belmont and Charlestown

Gionni Di Gravio
25th September 2000

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354