Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Music:  Find Journal Articles

This is a guide to finding the best resources for research in Music.

Search for Articles

Search for journal articles

Use this box to search the Library catalogue NewCat+ which gathers material from several journal databases. Enter the author and words from the title to find a specific article, or keywords to find articles on a topic.

Can't Find Articles?

Can't find articles?

If you can't find what you want in NewCat+ try searching a journal database. Here are links and descriptions for the most useful multi-disciplinary databases containing material relevant to research in Music

Top Databases

Top Databases

Databases may contain full-text journals (many peer-reviewed), reference works and primary sources

Other Databases

Search Tips

Search tips

Find a specific journal

Search for the title of the journal in the Library catalogue, NewCat +.

Use quotation marks to make your search more specific. Example: "Journal of academic ethics"

If the library has the journal, the catalogue record for the journal will be in the results list. It will include details of years that are available, and for journals which are available online there will be a link to the journal database.

Found an article from a journal we don't have?

If Newcastle doesn't have the article you want, request it from another library using our Get It Service.

For more details go to our Borrowing from other libraries webpage.

How to search a database?

Journal databases provide search hints and tips in the help menu - start there if you aren't familiar with the database

Ask The Library

Ask The Library

Featured Link

Featured Link

Finding music resources in the City Campus Library

Finding Scores and CDs

Searching for songs etc...?
Songs & short compositions may be compiled in an anthology,
cd or score. To search contents lists, search Newcat+ for the song /work title, and limit by format e.g compact disc or music score.

Music is catalogued in many languages
Search Newcat+ for the word root followed by an asterisk  e.g. sonat* finds: sonata, sonate, sonaten, sonatina, sonatas...
This is called truncation.

Limiting Newcat+ to the catalogue
Looking for books, music etc... held in the library? Select the 'Library Catalogue' limit, left of your results.

Bonus +


Search BONUS+ for books not available at the University of Newcastle Library.
Information guide

Get It

Use Get it to request items not held in NewCat+ or BONUS+.
Information guide

Contact Us

Ruth Talbot-Stokes
Faculty Librarian for Education and Arts
Ph: 02 49218881