University of Newcastle Library guides

Mayfield website:  Images

The Mayfield Website was created in 1995 to provide primary historical source materials such as early printed accounts, pioneer letters, oral history transcriptions, photographs, maps and plans on the little known history of the Newcastle, NSW suburb.

Mayfield website

Mayfield

A selection of images of Mayfield

These images of the Terminus and Sussman Bike Race, as well as on the following pages of the Mayfield Website, are courtesy of Hunter Photobank Local Studies Section, Newcastle Region Public Library, the Picman Database, State Library of New South Wales and the Cultural Collections in The University of Newcastle Library.

Terminus from 1923 to 1950

The Terminus in 1923

The Terminus at Mayfield

Terminus image courtesy of  Picman Database State LibraryTerminus image courtesy of Picman Database State Library

The 1927 Sussman Bike Race

Image courtesy of Hunter  Photobank

Sussman Bike RaceSussman bike race

Sussman Bike Race circa 1927
Ca. 1927 at the Sussman Bike Race
Note the Mayfield Hotel in the background.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354