Prepared by the Library of The University of Newcastle, Australia, this Guide details Library and Information Resources for studies in Industrial Design.
Design resources from the Library...
CAD / CAM systems resources from the Library...
|NewCat+ the Library's new catalogue lets you search for journal articles, books, ebooks, videos, DVD's, kits, Course Reserves (Short Loans), etc simultaneously with a single search.
Access NewCat+ here
Or, instead select and search for journal articles only in the specific Databases listed below.
- Design and Applied Arts Index
The design and applied arts index provides subject coverage and indexing to more than 450 design and craft journals. It currently contains over 110,000 annotated references to journals published from 1973+ (most articles date from 1987). This database also includes data on over 47,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc. Specific subject coverage includes: industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewelry, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Covers international, scholarly and popular architecture and design journals (including publications of professional associations) in Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia & USA.
- Art & Architecture Complete
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of hundreds of periodicals and books, as well as cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for nearly a thousand academic journals, magazines and trade publications and books. The database also provides selective coverage for additional publications and an immense Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others. Full-text coverage dates back to 1937.
- Art Index Fulltext
Features full-text articles, abstracting and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, podcasts, and page images. The database covers fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture. It also includes coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
More than 20,000 peer-reviewed journals, including 2,800 gold open access journals. Over 365 trade publications, Articles-in-press (i.e., articles that have been accepted for publication) from more than 3,750 journals and publishers. 6.5 million conference papers from over 17,000 worldwide events. Plus Patents.
- ScienceDirect Journals
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.