A guide to scholarly resources relating to Australian Indigenous health
If you need to find journal articles, start your search with NEWCAT+ . You can search for a specific article if you know the author and title, or type in some keywords to find articles on a topic.
If you cannot locate what you need in NEWCAT+ try using one of our journal database. The Quick Search Guide for Health Databases will help you decide which database to use, and provides some details about how to search.
- Informit Health Collection
Australian health databases covering a range of subjects within a health context
- Indigenous Bibliographic HealthInfonet Database
comprehensive bibliographic database produced by the Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet, Kurongkurl Katitjin: Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research, Edith Cowan University. It includes up to date bibliographic records for Indigenous health literature. The HealthBibliography, provided free of charge by the Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet, is updated almost every day.
- MEDLINE (1946+)
Premier bibliographic database for international literature on biomedicine and health care
- EMBASE (1947+)
international biomedical and pharmacological database
To identify articles on a particular topic use one or more of the databases listed at left.
- Some articles will be available full-text within the databases - look for a PDF or full-text link for the article you need, and download the article.
- If the full-text of the article is not included within the database, search NewCat+ using the title of the journal. If the Library subscribes to the journal, follow the link to the journal and locate the article using the volume, issue and page numbers of the article you need. Make sure you use the full title (not an abbreviation for the title) when you search NewCat+.
- If the journal is not listed in NewCat+, search ArticleReach, again using the title of the journal. If available via ArticleReach complete the online request form - a copy will be made available for you free of charge within a couple of days.
- Finally, if the journal is not availabe via ArticleReach (or the year you require is not available) you can request a copy of the article free of charge via GetIt.
Medline and some other databases use abbreviations for the title of journals. Try the following to assist identify the full title: