University of Newcastle Library guides

Hospital archives:  Introduction

This collection includes the records of the Royal Newcastle Hospital (1866+), Wallsend District Hospital and Newcastle Western Suburbs Hospital (1890+).

Archives : Hospitals

Archive Collections - Hospitals

 

This collection includes the records of the Royal Newcastle Hospital (1866+), Wallsend District Hospital and Newcastle Western Suburbs Hospital (1890+). Although the hospital records that have survived go back to the 1860s, it is interesting to reflect that the first hospital at Newcastle had been built over fifty years earlier by an eccentric Knight and convict adventurer, Sir Henry Brown Hayes (1762-1832). In 1801 Sir Henry had been transported to New South Wales for kidnapping an Irish heiress, Mary Pike, and seven years later he was sent from Sydney to toil in the Newcastle coal mines. It was during his Newcastle sojorn that Sir Henry built Bachelor's Hall which became the first hospital after Hayes left Newcastle about 1810. The Hospital Archives are extremely valuable for the history of medicine and we find, for example, in 1892, when a hospital was first opened at Wallsend that operations were performed on a table in the Hospital's Board Room!

Access

Please note: Access to the Hunter Area Health Service records is restricted for the following periods, from the date of their creation.

  • Patient identifying medical records: 110 years (Access Direction 7)
  • Staff and personnel related records: 50 years (Access Direction 162)
  • Other records: 30 years
  • Publications and Annual Reports: nil

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354