Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Library Services for High School Students: Open Door borrowing program

Guide for library resources available to high school students

About the UON Open Door borrowing program

Open Door Basics

The University of Newcastle (UON) Library offer local secondary school students the opportunity to get a head start on tertiary studies by joining the University Library.

School students can borrow from UON collections, providing access to over 1.3 million books. Students can also access online resources while on campus.

Go to the next tab in this box for the Open Door application form.

For more information about what items can be borrowed from UON Libraries please refer to the Borrowing rights & Access to Resources tab in this box.

So whether you're working on school assignments, studying for the HSC, or just looking for a good book to read, save yourself some research time and head to one of the UON Library locations.

Joining Open Door

Who can join?

Year 7-12 secondary school students.

Teachers may join the Library as Community, Corporate, or Alumni Members.
For more information about membership options see Other Borrowers

How do I join?

1. Pick up a form from any UON Library or download the application form below;
2. Fill in your details and have your parent/guardian sign the form;
3. Return the form to a UON Library for payment by EFTPOS or credit card.

Please note - we cannot accept cash.

Download the application form below:

Access to Resources

What can I borrow?

Borrower type

Fees

No. of items Loan period Fines charged? Other

High School Students

Patron type 55

$22 per calendar year

15 books

15 audiovisual items (e.g. kits, CDs, DVDs)

Loan periods vary, always check your receipt or MyLibrary.

2 weeks,1 week or 3 days (1 renewal)

Yes.

Borrowing suspended when over $10 owed, or an item more than 14 days late.

No access to:

  • Online resources
  • BONUS+
  • Toys or English Learners' collection

 

What happens if I don't return an item by the due date?

Fines are charged at $2 per item for the first day overdue, increasing by 50c each day until the item is returned, borrowing privileges cease when fines exceed $10.  Items can be renewed once, unless item is reserved, at any UON Library or online.  More information about renewing.

Can I place a hold on items in the Library?

A maximum of 10 items may be placed on hold and these will be held for collection for 5 days.  This includes items currently out on loan, located at another campus library, or available in closed stack.  More information on placing holds.

To place a hold you will need to activate your 'MyLibrary' account.

Can I use the Library's online journals and databases?

While you are on any of the University of Newcastle campuses you can access some of our collection of online journals and databases.  See the Community Access Guide below.

Will I be able to use the Internet?

No. Due to our license agreement the Library is only able to provide Internet access to staff and students of the University.

See the Community Access Guide below for more information:

Need More Information?

For more information please contact:
 
Anthony O'Brien
Pathways Program Support Librarian

 

Loading ...
Guide Index

About UON Library

See information about our campuses and more

Open Door Program

UON's high school student borrowing program

Borrowing rights

Finding resources

Use the collections at UON and other libraries

Hyperjinks High

UON's online library and research skills tutorial

Library visits and tours

Request a visit to a UON Library

Contact us

Get in touch with a support librarian