Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Education: Children's literature - themes

This is a guide to finding the best resources for research in Education.

Fiction resources for children

 

On this page you can find titles of children's and young adult books relating to particular topics. Students often ask for books based on themes or values, e.g. sharing, families, adventure, health, caring, greed, grief, etc. These books can be hard to find in the Library catalogue unless you know the title or author.

The children's literature collection and Koori collection are all located in the Curriculum Resources & Media Centre (CRMC) in Huxley library. The CRMC is located next to the survival station.
 

The Huxley Children's Collection is broken into 4 groups:
 

Picture books for children

Early childhood, more pictures than text (CRMC shelf location 808.936)

Junior fiction

More text than pictures, includes easy chapter books (CRMC shelf location 808.937) for primary school children.

Young adults 

High school children and beyond (CRMC shelf location 808.938)

Indigenous books (Koori Collection)

a combination of all the above different stages of reading (CRMC shelf location 808.8989915)

Please ask staff at the Huxley service zone if you need assistance with using the lists or finding items of the shelves.

Click on the tab for your topic to see our resources.

Australian authors

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: Autism, Asperger and ADHD

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: Bedtime

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: Behaviour

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: Change

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: Death and Grief

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: Physical and Intellectual disabilities

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: Emotions

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 30/10/2018

Fiction titles: Environment, nature and sustainability

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: Fairy tales

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 30/10/18

Fiction titles: Family

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18/2018

Fiction titles: First day of school

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction title: Friendship

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction title: Health and hygiene

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: History

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: Humorous

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 30/10/18

Koori (Indigenous) Collection: fiction

 

Koori Collection

Books in  this collection are about or written by Aboriginal Australian and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Here you can find Indigenous (Koori) books for children and young adults. Books written by Koori authors can be hard to find in the library catalogue unless you know the title or author. This guide will assist you when looking for Indigneous stories e.g. Creation/Dreaming, Spiritual beliefs, stolen generation etc. 

The Koori Collection is all located in the Curriculum Resources & Media Centre (CRMC) in Huxley library, Callaghan campus. The CRMC is located next to the survival station

 

Fiction titles: LGBTIQA+

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/2018

Fiction titles: Mental health issues

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: Multiculturalism

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: Refugees

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: Responsibility

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles:Self acceptance and body image

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 13/12/18

 

Fiction titles:Teamwork

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/18

Fiction titles: War history

This information will be updated regularly.  Please remember to check back on a regular basis for new titles.

Last updated 24/10/2018

Loading ...

Need some help?

Ask the Library

Click  Ask the library above to access Library Help and Information


Use our Library Chat service below (when available)