Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

ebooks:  What is an ebook?

What is an ebook?

What is an ebook?

An ebook, also known as an electronic book or digital book, is a book that exists in electronic form. It means a book that is available online in a full text format.

The UON Library ebooks are designed for research and can be read on any desktop or laptop computer and on a number of smart phone/tablet devices.

ebooks can be published in a range of file formats such as epub, pdf, mobi or azw. Most ebooks are available to be read online and are designed to be read on computers or laptops, a number of smart phone/tablet devices and ebook readers.

Printing, copying and downloading features vary between ebook publishers and usually requires your computer or device to have special software installed. 

Please note: The option to download allows you to receive the content from ebooks, it does not allow you to save the book.

ebook collections

ACLS Humanities E-Book

eBooks covering a variety of fields in Humanities, including Australasian, Oceanian, Canadian, Native Peoples, Women's Studies, Art History, Literature, Political Science and Religion.

Bentham eBooks

Bentham publish eBooks in all areas of Science, Technology and Medicine.

Books@Ovid

Access to a broad range of titles associated with Health, Nursing and Midwifery.

Books24x7 BusinessPro Collection

Thousands of fully-searchable business titles from reputable publishers and authors. Includes corporate case studies, latest trends on leadership, marketing strategies, supply chain, business modeling and project management.
 

Books24x7 IT Pro Collection

Access to thousands of IT and technology books and documents providing both broad and deep coverage of over 100 different technology topics.
 

DOAB: directory of open access books

Open access to almost 2500 academic peer-reviewed books that are available under an Open Access license (such as a Creative Commons license).

EBL: eBook Library

eBook Library is a multidisciplinary ebook platform/database covering a wide range of subjects including education, health, business, management, politics, history, literature, and information technology.

eBook collection (EBSCOHost)

A collection of ebooks from the EBSCOHost database focusing on a variety of subject areas including architecture, business, education, engineering, health, history, philosophy, religion, sciences, and social sciences, etc.

Ebrary academic collection (Proquest)

A collection of ebooks published by ebrary covering a range of subject areas including business and economics, computers and IT, education, engineering, history, language, literature, politics, medicine, nursing, and sciences.

IEEE-Wiley eBook library

Access to more than 700 eBooks via the IEEE Xplore digital library. The collection spans numerous content areas, including bioengineering, power and energy, and communication technologies. It includes practical handbooks, introductory and advanced texts, reference works and professional books.

Index to legal periodicals and books full text

Full text coverage of over 400 selected international legal journals, law reviews,bar association journals and yearbooks. 4 user licence

Informa healthcare eBooks

Pharmaceutical science, toxicology, pharmaceutical manufacturing, drug design and development, oncology, cardiology, dermatology, neurology and endocrinology.

InTech open access books

Multidisciplinary collection of open access books covering the fields of Engineering, Humanities, Science, Technology and Medicine.

Karger ebook collection (2006-2011)

Collection of ebooks published by Kager covering the clinical and research areas of medicine and science.

Kogan Page ebook collection

Collection of business & management, health, social sciences and humanities ebooks published by Kogan Page from 2006 to the present day.

PsycBooks (Ovid)

PsycBOOKS is a full-text database of books and chapters from the American Psychological Association (APA).

Radcliffe Publishing ebook collection

Radcliffe Publishing ebook collection contains 208 ebook titles in the medical subject areas of:- Primary care, Professional development, Nursing, Child health, Exam preparation, Dentistry, Medical and healthcare education, Mental health and substance use, Psychological therapies, Palliative care, Pharmacy, Allied health professions, Social care

RIBA Royal Institute of British Architects ebooks collection

Royal Institute of British Architects ebooks collection provides access to electronic books in the subject areas of architecture, design and construction

Springer eBook collection

42 titles in the medical subject areas of nursing, psychology, gerontology, social work, counseling, public health, and rehabilitation.

Taylor and Francis eBooks

Collection of ebooks in Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment, STM and Law.

Thieme E-Book Library

Includes pocket guides and colour atlases in anatomy, biochemistry, genetics, immunology, neuroscience, as well as other medicine and life sciences topics.

Ask The Library

Ask The Library

ask the library