University of Newcastle Library guides

Digital Scriptorium:  Images of Wallsend

The Digital Scriptorium of the Cultural Collections unit contains a selection of digitised manuscript and printed works.

Digital Scriptorium : Archives

Images of Wallsend

Villas

Houses

Cast Iron Work

Industry

Image from Archival Collection: WINN, COUPLAND AND AIRD FAMILIES:

  • A5235 (iv) Photographs: C. Firkin & Co. Store, Wallsend c.1900, George Street, Singleton, c.1900.

Image from Archival Collection: HASLAM, Percy A.:

  • A5414 (xix) Wallsend old Council Chambers, April, 1974 [now Jehovah's Witnesses Kingdom Hall].

Archival Collection: BOLAND, Ruth M:

  • A5582 (xii) - (xiii, xiiia) "The town as palimpsest" Wallsend-Plattsburg 1860 - 80 to 1980, Commercial development. [University of Newcastle Historical Geography essay 1980, original and two Xerox copies.]

Image from Archival Collection: BROOKS, Millie:

  • A5693 (v) Class photograph of primary school girls, found in the home of the late Miss Millie Brooks at Wallsend. [c. 1907].

Images from Archival Collection: BLIGH (NELLY) COLLECTION:

Images from Archival Collection: NEWCASTLE WALLSEND COAL COMPANY

  • M4216 - M4218 Xerox copies of Plans of the Township of Wallsend
  • M4219 Pencil rubbings from brass plate belonging to The Newcastle and Wallsend Coal Company

Images from Archival Collection: WALLSEND DISTRICT HOSPITAL (FORMERLY WALLSEND MINING DISTRICT HOSPITAL)

Images from the Estate of Josiah Cocking

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354