University of Newcastle Library guides

Digital Scriptorium:  Features and displays

The Digital Scriptorium of the Cultural Collections unit contains a selection of digitised manuscript and printed works.

Digital Scriptorium : Features and displays

Digital Features and Displays

  • Ancient Artefacts from Roman Britain- A Collection of around 120 objects, most of which represent the fruits of a 6-week archaeological dig conducted in 1960 at Viroconium (the ancient name of Wroxeter in Shropshire) and a nearby Iron Age hill-fort. The artefacts were donated to the University in January 2003 by the Reverend Wardlow Little and his wife. The Reverend Little is a retired teacher of Classics who taught Greek and Latin at a number of Sydney schools in the 1950s - 60s.
  • Ars Memorativa- From the printery of Anton Sorg in Augsburg circa 1490 Faithfully reprinted according to the original, only a few copies of which survive, by the publisher Dr Benno Filser Pty Ltd in Augsburg in the year 1925. This is an English translation of an early German work on the Art of Memory translated by Dr Geoff See.
  • The Barry Howard Collection - Mr Barry Howard was an electrician in local mines such as Bellbird, Hebburn No. 2 and Rhondda Collieries. He has kindly allowed us to publish his collection of photographs on our Flickr site.
  • Early Architects of the Hunter Region: A Hundred Years to 1940 by Les Reedman (2008)
  • The Godfrey Tanner Society - a blog dedicated to the memory of Emeritus Professor Godfrey Tanner, first Professor of Classics.
  • "From Small Beginnings: 50th Anniversary of University Education in Newcastle 1951 - 2001"- Online version of a Library display in December 2001 celebrating the 50th Anniversary of University Education in Newcastle presented by the then Archives, Rare Books and Special Collections Unit. Good source for general history of the University of University and the institutions that comprise it.
  • The Mayfield Website - Digitised early accounts from travellers' journals, oral history transcriptions, photographs, maps, plans and much more relating to the history of this Newcastle suburb.
  • Names and Places - the story behind the names of buildings, rooms and other places on the University campuses.
  • The New Adventures of Mark Twain - Coalopolis to Metropolis - The discovery of an original letter of gratitude sent by the famous author Mark Twain has inspired a major cultural production featuring the work of 10 prominent artist / academics from The University of Newcastle and prominent Australian authors. The letter was sent to Mr Wells, a Newcastle dentist in appreciation for the relief of a toothache suffered by Twain during his lecture tour of Australia in 1895.
  • Nobbys Coal River Precinct - The University's Nobbys Coal River Working Party, now the Hunter Living Histories Initiative, was formed to assist The Parks and Playgrounds Movement and other interested community bodies to protect this city's places of important historical significance, and consists of representatives from across the University's sciences and humanities.
  • The Philosophy and Film Database - contains details of around 500 films which can be used to enhance philosophy teaching at all levels. In addition, a small number of entries list other available visual material, including television shows and filmed interviews
  • Symbiosis- Institute for Comparative Studies in Science, Myth, Magic and Folklore was a collaborative venture of the Faculty of Education and Arts' School of Liberal Arts and the Cultural Collections Unit of the University of Newcastle.
  • Huldah Turner- Huldah Mary Turner, former Vice Principal and Acting Principal of Newcastle Teachers' College,was the first woman in NSW to become Vice Principal and Acting Principal of a Teachers' College. She was also the first woman on the Council of the University of Newcastle. This website, prepared with the assistance and support of her family, is a small tribute to a remarkable woman.
  • The Virtual Coquun-Hunter River Project - Have a look at our exciting digital initiative bringing together original sourceworks of Hunter Regional history held in the ARBSC Unit.
  • Virtual Sourcebook of Aboriginal Studies in the Hunter Region - aims to bring together digitised accounts from original sources relating to the local Aboriginal people.
  • Yallarwah Place - An Act of Reconciliation- On Friday 19th February 1999 Yallarwah Place was officially opened and born to the Community of the Hunter Region. Yallarwah Place is an accommodation centre for the families of Aboriginal people from the communities of the Hunter and Northern NSW who are receiving medical care at the John Hunter Hospital.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354