Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Digital Technologies self-help guide:  Library terms

Troubleshooting common problems with access to Library eresources.
Bibliography

This is a list of books, journals or online resources that you have used or cited when writing a thesis, essay or assignment

BONUS+

BONUS+ is a resource-sharing project that enables the lending of selected library material among the staff and students

Call number

This is the library classification number you will find on every item in the library (e.g. on the spine of a book). It is the way you can find items in the library shelves

Catalogue

This refers to the Library Catalogue which is a list of all the items available through the library. You can search it by various means (author, title, keyword etc.) to find the item you need.

Citation

This is a reference embedded in the body of your thesis/essay to a source that will be included in your bibliography.

Copyright

This is a form of intellectual property, making sure that the creator of a work is given appropriate credit.

Course Readings Collection - Physical (2 hour loan)

Course Readings is a collection of high demand, essential scholarly materials which are identified by Course Coordinators to support teaching programs at the University of Newcastle. They have restrictions on their borrowing periods so that they are more available to all students.

Course Readings Collection - Electronic

Electronic items in Course Readings are only available to current students and staff of the University, due to copyright restrictions and licensing agreements.
The type of material includes: online articles, scanned articles or chapters from books and e-books

Document delivery/ILL /GetIt

This is a service that obtains copies or loans of items, that University of Newcastle libraries library does not have, from other libraries. 

Electronic resource

These are resources that you can access online via a computer, mobile or tablet. They are available 24/7 and include journals, newspapers, books, videos, images.

EndNote

This is a program to use to manage your bibliographies and references when writing an essay or assignment.

Footnote

This is text that is placed at the bottom of the page in your thesis/essay. You usually use a superscripted number after the text to link to the footnote. These are often used as an alternative to a long explanatory note

Full text

This indicates that the entire text of a journal article or book is available. It usually relates to online items.

Holdshelf

When you have asked the library to hold an item for you, it will be placed on the holdshelf in your campus library where you can collect it.

Keyword

These are words or phrases that you use when searching a database, library Catalogue or the web to find specific content.

Subject Resource guides

These are guides developed by faculty librarians to assist you in the use of the library and finding resources for your studies.

MyLibrary

You can login to your library record. You can then view and renew your loans, check on your holds or list your overdue items with fines. You can also start up the Borrowing History option.

MyPrint

This is the university's scanning, print and copy charging system.

Off Campus

University of Newcastle students that are studying away from campus.

Off Shore

University of Newcastle students that are studying outside of Australia.

Permalink

Permalink is short for 'permanent link' and provides an easy way to bookmark, or link directly to, a web page. You can quickly and easily copy the web address by right-clicking Permalink, then selecting either Copy shortcut (IE users) or Copy link location (Firefox or Mozilla users).

Reference List

This is a list of books, journals or online resources that you have cited when writing a thesis, essay or assignment.

Request a Hold

If an item is currently unavailable or is located in another campus library, then you can request that item via the Request a Hold button in the Catalogue. The item will then be placed on the holdshelf at your campus for you to collect.

 

 

For more Library words, please click here

Need some help?

  • Click Ask the library above to access Library Help and Information 

  • Access Librarian support via Book a Librarian or Library Live

  • Use our Library Chat service below (when available)