Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Digital Technologies self-help guide:  Access issues

Troubleshooting common problems with access to Library eresources.
Why can I access some electronic journals without logging in with my UON ID?

 

Some full text journals are freely available on the Internet, either for a limited time or permanently.

 

404 error - what does that mean?

 

This error message indicates the page was not found on the vendor's site. We suggest waiting 30 minutes and trying again.
 

Click here for more information and some helpful tips

 

Every time I use an eBook through Ebsco and leave it idle for a long time, it stops me from using it saying "this ebook is in use".

 

When EBSCOhost eBooks remain idle for 30 minutes, the eBook system will go through the return process, which may take up to 15 minutes. To avoid this problem, download the eBook to your computer or portable device for uninterrupted reading.

 

Can't access a database or electronic resource?

 

Some of our database licenses are restricted to a limited number of concurrent users. We notify users by including a note like "limited to 10 concurrent users" on the A-Z database page and also within the NewCat+ record. Access can also be affected by current database issues or availability dates of the resource.

 

User Licenses

  • Check user license limits by going to the A-Z database list. Databases that have access restrictions, or limitations will have the information in bold beneath the database description. For example,

Australian Medicines Handbook

Ebook version of the annual AMH, includes drug monographs, class statements and therapeutic information.
4 Concurrent users
Please LOGOUT at the end of your session
AMH has decided to remove support for IE version 8 as of 17th July 2017 which means there will be some loss of functionality in our websites. Please note that in January 2018, the content of AMH Online and Companion websites will no longer be viewable in IE versions 7 and 8.

 

Current databases issues

  • Check the A-Z database list for current issues or conditions affecting a database. These will be listed beneath the database description and be highlighted in orange. For example,

InCites Benchmarking & Analytics
Benchmarks research output and impact; identify collaborators and subject matter experts; promotes areas of strength and specialisations; demonstrate results and impact.
Access to Benchmarking & Analytics requires Users to create an account with a University Email Address and Password.

SpringerLink journals
Springer/Verlag and Birkhauser publications in a variety of subject areas including: biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, and the social sciences.
Users need to untick 'Include Preview-Only content' for full text content - content with closed padlocks is not available to UON.

 

Special usage instructions

  • Some of databases have special instructions for usage. The instructions will be highlighted beneath the database description. For example,

 ASTM International standards online
This resource provides access to the current collection of ASTM Standards using IHS Standards Expert. These standards begin with the acronym 'ASTM'. IHS Standards Expert also provides access to an index of over 1.6 million standards, specifications, codes, regulations and related documents from government, military and commercial sources.
Users need to create an individual log-in to access the search screen, then limit the search to 'My Subscriptions', otherwise results will include standards and codes which are not part of our available access

 

Availability dates

  • Journal issues availability - check the date range for access. For example,  

 

Loading ...

help

  • Click Ask the library above to access Library Help and Information 

  • Access Librarian support via Book a Librarian or Library Live

  • Use our Library Chat service below (when available)