University of Newcastle Library guides

Dalton Family Papers:  Introduction

We present three items from our Dalton Family Archive, donated by Gwen Hamment in June 1999, which includes the full version of Captain John Dalton's diary and log book dating from the 1860s, as well as other treasures.

The Dalton Family Papers

The Dalton Family Papers

  1. Scope and contents note
  2. Biographical note
  3. Series list and description
  4. Captain John Dalton's diary and log
  5. Dalton Family tree

Scope and Contents Note

  • Papers
  • 1800-1990
  • 5 boxes
  • Access - Open

The collection of correspondence, papers, photographs and artefacts of the Dalton family were transferred by Mrs Gwen Hamment, daughter of the late William Dalton of 'Riversdale' Scone (1897-1974), and grand daughter of Captain John Dalton (1833 -1912), to the Archives, Rare Books and Special Collections Unit of the University of Newcastle in June 1999. Supplementary material was deposited by Mrs Gwen Hamment in March 2001.

The papers comprise a range of archival "treasures", documents, photographs and artefacts across three generations of family members and includes diary and ship's log books (1866-1870) and naval artefacts (1862-1913) of Captain John Dalton; illuminated addresses and certificates of schoolmaster James Dalton (c1835 - 1909); war time correspondence (1916 - 1919) and WWI photo albums of William Dalton; diary (1909 -1912) of James Dalton (1883-1917); printed works (1800-1990); family photographic albums, garments and handicrafts.

A finding aid for the Dalton family papers, photographs and artefacts is available as a PDF file.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354