Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Curriculum Resource Collections:  Huxley Indigenous Collection

A guide to the Curriculum Resource Collections at the University of Newcastle Libraries

Overview

The Huxley Indigenous Collection is located in the CRMC Area at Huxley Library in the Hunter Building.

The Huxley Indigenous Collection has over 1,200 specialised resources to support students of Aboriginal Studies and similar courses at the University of Newcastle.

All books, DVDs and kits in the Huxley Indigenous Collection are identified with an Aboriginal flag sticker.

The Wollotuka Institute and the Library collaborate in managing the Huxley Indigenous Collection.

The Wollotuka Institute in the Birabahn Building also holds Australian Indigenous resources in the Yuranna Centre Collection. Research students enrolled with The Wollotuka Institute have access to the various Indigenous resources located in the Yuranna Room such as books, videos, manuscripts, journals etc. Only Wollotuka teaching staff and RHD (Research and Higher Degree) students have access the Yuranna Centre Collection. No access is available for undergraduate students.

Huxley Koorie Collection

Huxley Koorie Collection is located in the CRMC area in the Huxley Library, Hunter Building.

This collection is a mix of dreamtime and contemporary children’s indigenous literature. The collection has both fiction and non-fiction titles written by indigenous and non-indigenous authors.

Reading levels range from young children to young adults.

The call number for these titles is 808.8989915.