Early Newcastle
Threlkeld 1834
Newcastle in 1843Keene 1854Keene 1Keene 2Keene 3Keene 4Keene 5Keene 6Keene 7Keene 8Keene 9Flagstaff Hill 1856Flagstaff Hill 1Flagstaff Hill 2Threlkeld 1858
de Beauvoir
Threlkeld 1892Threlkeld Map 1892
Glenn Albrecht
This is the "Introduction" page of the "Virtual Coquun-Hunter River Project Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Virtual Coquun-Hunter River Project Guide  

The Virtual Coquun-Hunter River Project is a collaborative endeavour begun in December 2000 which aims to create a digital repository of early accounts and descriptions of the Hunter Region.
Last Updated: Jan 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.newcastle.edu.au/chrp Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Virtual Coquun-Hunter River Project

Welcome and Ela. The Virtual Coquun - Hunter River Project is a collaborative endeavour begun in December 2000 which aims to create a digital repository of early accounts and descriptions of the Hunter Region.

Dr Glenn Albrecht has prepared an excellent paper entitled "Rediscovering the Coquun: Towards an Environmental History of the Hunter River"  where he attempts, through a series of historical accounts, to provide a view of how things have changed with the River over time, and calls for continuing ecological restoration work and the establishment of a native sense of place by restoring the Aboriginal place names with their English equivalents.

The Cultural Collections Unit in the Auchmuty Library contains a fantastic collection of historical research material relating to Newcastle and the Hunter Region. There are a number of important early accounts from individuals who travelled through the region and wrote descriptions of what they saw. Unfortunately, not many people in the wider community know about them.

In recent times, the book Novocastrian Tales (Newcastle: Elephant Press, 1997) edited by Mr Paul Walsh, brought together a large number of stories relating to the history of Newcastle. This project will expand on that work.

Our dream is to one day create an interactive virtual Coquun-Hunter River as an educational tool that we can sail up at different time periods (e.g. Aboriginal dreaming, 1797, 1800, 1810, 1830, 1860, 1900, 1950, 2000 etc.) and where we can access digitised historical materials such as scanned accounts from books, diaries, oral history transcriptions, paintings, photographs etc, that have been incorporated into various points along the journey.

If you see this as an interesting idea, why not contact us with any suggestions and comments. If you wish to sponsor the digitisation of a particular sourcework, then view our benefactors page for more information on how you can assist us in our endeavours.

Gionni di Gravio
Cultural Collections Unit

 

Descriptive Accounts

 

Cultural Collections

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip