Journal Alerts Guide
AuslanDictionariesGeneral ResourcesGlossariesLanguage DevelopmentOrganisationsPhonetics
Communication Studies research GuideEnglish Research GuideLanguage Research GuideSpeech Pathology Research guide
This is the "Home" page of the "Linguistics Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Linguistics Resource Guide  

This is a guide to finding the best resources for research in Linguistics.
Last Updated: Nov 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.newcastle.edu.au/linguistics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Click one of the tabs above to find Linguisitcs resources

 

Contact the Library

For help click - Ask the Library

Ruth Talbot-Stokes
Faculty Librarian for Education & Arts

Fiona Neville
(Ourimbah)
Liaison Librarian, Education & Arts

 

Research Tips

Searching Newcat+ 
To find Books, DVDs etc... held in the library, select Library Catalogue limit left of your results.

What are Secondary Sources?  Journal articles, book chapters etc... written about a work, usually offering a critical view of that work.

What are Primary Sources?  Original works & uninterpreted information about an event or time.

Beware Wikipedia!
It can't be cited in academic essays (avoid sites where authors aren't accountable for contributions). 

Evaluate! Evaluate! Evaluate!
Be critical about everything you read

Avoid Plagiarism
Don't use an author's work or ideas without referencing them (yes, even if it's not directly quoted & you've changed the wording)

 

Linguistics Books

Cover Art
Syntax - Andrew Carnie
ISBN: 9780470655313
Publication Date: 2013
Andrew Carnie's bestselling textbook on syntax has guided thousands of students through the discipline of theoretical syntax; retaining its popularity due to its combination of straightforward language, comprehensive coverage, and numerous exercises.

Cover Art
Handbook of Bilingualism and Multilingualism - Bhatia & Ritchie (Eds)
ISBN: 9781444334906
Publication Date: 2013
Comprising state-of-the-art research, this substantially expanded and revised Handbook discusses the latest global and interdisciplinary issues across bilingualism and multilingualism. Includes the addition of ten new authors to the contributor team, and coverage of seven new topics ranging from global media to heritage language learning

Cover Art
Language Development - Erika Hoff
ISBN: 9781133939092
Publication Date: 2013
Hoff helps readers understand different theoretical points of view-- and the research processes that have lead theorists to their findings. After an overview and history of the field, Hoff thoroughly covers the biological bases of language development and the core topics of phonological, lexical, and syntactic development.

Cover Art
Introduction to Intercultural Communication - Fred E. Jandt
ISBN: 9781412992879
Publication Date: 2013
Filled with thought-provoking examples, photos, quotes, cases & stories that spark students’ interest & challenge them to reconsider existing viewpoints... Using a historical framework that places current topics in context, Jandt integrates media as a variable in advancing issues & ideas, offers a full chapter on women, and family, and retains his non-biased presentation of all cultures & ethnic groups.

Cover Art
Word Order - Jae Jung Song
ISBN: 0521872146
Publication Date: 2012
Word order is one of the major properties on which languages are compared and its study is fundamental to linguistics. This comprehensive survey provides an up-to-date, critical overview of this widely debated topic, exploring and evaluating word order research carried out in four major theoretical frameworks - linguistic typology, generative grammar, optimality theory and processing-based theories.

Cover Art
Research Methods in Clinical Linguistics and Phonetics - Müller & Ball (Eds)
ISBN: 9781444335842
Publication Date: 2013
The only volume to offer hands-on information about the wide range of research philosophies, methods and tools used across linguistics, phonetics, and speech science, as applied to disordered speech and language.

Cover Art
Oxford Handbook of Linguistic Fieldwork - Thieberger (Ed)
ISBN: 9780199571888
Publication Date: 2012
A state-of-the-art guide to linguistic fieldwork, reflecting its collaborative nature across the subfields of linguistics and disciplines such as astronomy, anthropology, biology, musicology, and ethnography. Experienced scholars and fieldworkers explain the methods and approaches needed to understand a language in its full cultural context and to document it accessibly and enduringly.

 

Library Classes Calendar

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip