EBM Resources
Try these evidence based, peer reviewed resources.
Latest articles from Nature Reviews: Drug Discovery

Loading...
Contact the Library
- By phone
- Via our online ASAPInfo service
- In person at one of our libraries
- Via SMS 048 8765 006
Callaghan Campus
Debbie Booth - Faculty Librarian, Health
Room L338, Auchmuty Library
Phone: 02 492 15844
Email: debbie.booth@newcastle.edu.au
Library hours
New titles received - Pharmacy
Loading...
ABC Health News
Library News
Loading...
Finding Background Information
Reference books, such as dictionaries, encyclopaedias and handbooks are a useful starting point when beginning your research. Dictionaries provide definitions, and help you to understand the terminology. Encyclopaedias provide a general overview of a topic, and may also provide a list of books and journal articles for further reading.
Reference books can be located via a subject search in NEWCAT. For example, ''pharmaceutical chemistry dictionaries', 'drugs prescribing handbooks'.
Listed below are some of the major reference works for pharmacy available online:
- Dictionary of Public Health
- Encyclopedia of Controlled Drug Delivery [Knovel]
- Encyclopedia of Pharmaceutical Technology [InformaWorld]
- Glossary of Terms and Symbols used in Pharmacology
- Handbook of Pharmaceutical Additives [Knovel]
- Oxford Handbook of Practical Drug Therapy [Books@OVID]
- Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Encyclopedia [Knovel]
- The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals [Knovel]
- The Pharmacy Practice Handbook of Medication Facts [netLibrary]


Loading...
