Prepared by the Library of The University of Newcastle, Australia, this Guide will help you to find and use Library and Information Resources for Mechanical Engineering studies.
For a list of just some resources on mechanical engineering from the Library...
For a list of just some resources on fluid mechanics from the Library...
|NewCat+ the Library's new catalogue lets you search for journal articles, books, ebooks, videos, DVD's, kits, Course Reserves (Short Loans), etc simultaneously with a single search.
Access NewCat+ here
Or, instead select and search for journal articles only in the specific Databases listed below.
- ASME Digital Collection (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)
Full text access to journals published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
- Ei compendex
Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases containing >15.8 million records across 190 engineering disciplines. Also, Compendex indexes 1,031 journals that contain articles-in-press.
- ScienceDirect journals
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals & >12.5 million full text articles.
- Arts & Humanities citation index
Online web access to ISI's citation indexes. These are: Science Citation Index Expanded - 1956 to present; Social Sciences Citation Index - 1956 to present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index - 1975 to present. Web of Science provides indexing to citations from high impact journals.
- SpringerLink journals
Includes current and back issues of Springer/Verlag & Birkhauser publications in the fields of biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, and economics.
- Informit engineering collection
The Informit Engineering Collection covers a range of subjects within an engineering context including civil engineering, mining, environmental engineering, road and rail, and municipal engineering. An Australian database.
More than 20,000 peer-reviewed journals, including 2,800 gold open access journals. Over 365 trade publications, Articles-in-press (i.e., articles that have been accepted for publication) from more than 3,750 journals and publishers. 6.5 million conference papers from over 17,000 worldwide events. Plus Patents.