Free and Open Access eBookseBook Collections
Ebook Library (EBL)Books 24x7ebraryEbsco eBook Collection
Using eBooks in TeachingUsing eBooks in ResearchPurchasing eBooks for the collection
Use eBooksFind eBooks at UoNUse Mobile devicesFind Free and Open Access eBooksReference an ebook
This is the "Home" page of the "eBook Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

eBook Guide   Tags: digital book, e-book, e-reader, ebl, ebook, ebooks, ebrary, electronic book  

Using eBooks at the University of Newcastle, Australia
Last Updated: Aug 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.newcastle.edu.au/eBook_guide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is an eBook?

eBooks?

 An e-Book, also known as an electronic book or digital book, is a book that exists in electronic form.

eBooks can be published in a range of file formats such as epub, pdf, mobi or azw and most eBooks are available to be read online and are designed to be read on computers or laptops and on a number of smart phone/tablet devices and eBook readers.

eBooks can come individually title by title or in collections and printing, copying and downloading features will vary between eBook publishers.

 

8 Reasons for eBooks

eBook Features

Things to keep in mind about the Library's eBook collections...

  • eBooks are available 24x7
  • Able to be accessed from any location
  • Many allow more than one user at a time
  • Ability to search within the text
  • Contain high quality content
  • Can have interactive features
  • No waiting for reshelving or overdue fines
  • No heavy books to carry or return
 

Welcome to eBooks at UoN

eBooks offer convenient anytime, anywhere access and enhanced search capabilities. 

Use eBooks in your studies and research just like you'd use print books including: for a topic overview, advanced learning, for basic information not normally presented in articles, for answers to reference questions, for historical information and for reading pleasure.

 

 

Help using Specific Collections

You need to create a personal account with EBL before you can access EBL ebooks. More help.
Books24/7 users need to to register, click on the link to Books24x7 in the Library catalogue. More help.
You are free to read online, print or copy from ebrary books, however if you want to download a book or chapter you will need to create an account with ebrary. More help.
Ebscohost eBook Collection contains an extensive range of eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. More help.
 

Need help try Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip