This is the "Introduction" page of the "Archives Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives Collections  

The Archives in Cultural Collections holds the records of the University of Newcastle and many important regional collections.
Last Updated: Jan 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.newcastle.edu.au/archives Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Archives

Archives and Manuscripts

 

The University Archives

The University Archives was founded in February 1975 to safeguard the permanent value records of the University of Newcastle. The University Archives within the Auchmuty Library at the University of Newcastle holds some 2,000 shelf metres of priceless manuscript material dating from the year 1826.

Archival collections contain a great wealth of untapped material, and some individual collections have extraordinary range and depth for research. Since then many more important and valuable research collections relating to the region have been deposited in the archives including the magnificent Pender Archive, the records of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle  and the Percy Haslam Collection  relating to Aboriginal culture.

Please click here for a PDF version of our "An Introduction to Archives, Manuscripts and Related Research Collections held in the Library of the University of Newcastle, Australia". If you wish to consult our regional collections please ensure that you read and sign our Regional Archives Access Conditions form and deposit it with us when you visit.

Archives is situated near the Information Common on level 2 of the Auchmuty Library, University of Newcastle, Australia. Our opening hours are 9.00 - 5.00pm Monday to Friday.

 

Cultural Collections

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip