This is the "Home" page of the "Guide to accessing Cultural Collections materials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to accessing Cultural Collections materials  

Guide to accessing Cultural Collections materials in the Auchmuty Library.
Last Updated: Jan 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.newcastle.edu.au/ccaccess Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Access to Materials

Access to Materials held by Cultural Collections

 

Friends Reading RoomAll are welcome to visit our Cultural Collections reading room and to view material held in our archives and rare books and special collections. We are open between 9:00am and 5:00pm, Monday to Friday.

Because many of the books and other items held in our area are valuable, fragile, and sometimes contain material that legally may not be accessed for a certain period, there are some rules and procedures associated with their use. Some of these are outlined below. Our staff can supply detailed information on the use of our resources.

General Information

  • In general, material must be used within the Cultural Collections Reading Room and may not be borrowed.
  • To access the material, please come to the reception desk and make your request. Material, if available, will be retrieved for you by a member of staff.
  • Certain material may not be photocopied. Please ask our staff before photocopying anything. We provide a light box for digital photography.
  • Please ask our staff if you have any questions about access to our resources.

Access to Archives Collections

Access to Rare Books and Special Collections

  • If you wish to use our books, please fill in a form at the reception desk and a member of staff will retrieve it from the collections for you.
  • If a book is especially fragile, gloves are provided for your use. 
 

Cultural Collections

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip