Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Open Access:  Authors and Open Access

Creative Commons

Creative Commons is an international non-profit organisation that provides free licences and tools that copyright owners can use to allow others to share, reuse and remix their material, legally.

Creative Commons Australia is the affiliate that supports Creative Commons in Australia and administers the Australian Creative Commons licences.

Author Addendums

The Scholarly Publishing and Resources Coalition (SPARC) provide information and tools for authors to help secure your rights as the author of a journal article.

A range of author resources are available.

SPARC's brochure on Author Rights provides a good overview of author addendums, how these can be used and provides a link to the Sciences Common online tool to create an addendum.

Find out more about author addendums and what these are.

 

An Authors Guide to Open Access

Understanding Open Access in the Academic Environment: A Guide for Authors

Pappalardo, Kylie M.,Fitzgerald, Brian F.,Fitzgerald, Anne M.,Kiel-Chisholm, Scott D.,Georgiades, Jenny, & Austin, Anthony C.(2008) Understanding Open Access in the Academic Environment: A Guide for Authors. (Unpublished)

Abstract

The OAK Law Project aims to facilitate seamless access to knowledge and improve social, economic and cultural outcomes. This guide aims to provide practical guidance for academic authors interested in making their work more openly accessible to readers and other researchers. The guide provides authors with an overview of the concept of and rationale for open access to research outputs and how they may be involved in its implementation and with what effect. In doing so it considers the central role of copyright law and publishing agreements in structuring an open access framework as well as the increasing involvement of funders and academic institutions. The guide also explains different methods available to authors for making their outputs openly accessible, such as publishing in an open access journal or depositing work into an open access repository. Importantly, the guide addresses how open access goals can affect an author’s relationship with their commercial publisher and provides guidance on how to negotiate a proper allocation of copyright interests between an author and publisher. A Copyright Toolkit is provided to further assist authors in managing their copyright.

 

Accepted Version (PDF 1374Kb) This article is available under License Creative Commons Attribution Non-commercial Share Alike.

 

Author Rights

Open Access versus Subscription Journals

Open access versus subscription journals: a comparison of scientific impact

Bo-Christer Bjandouml & David Solomon.

BMC Medicine 2012,10:73

ABSTRACT : In the past few years there has been an ongoing debate as to whether the proliferation of open access (OA) publishing would damage the peer review system and put the quality of scientific journal publishing at risk. Our aim was to inform this debate by comparing the scientific impact of OA journals with subscription journals, controlling for journal age, the country of the publisher, discipline and (for OA publishers) their business model. doi:10.1186/1741-7015-10-73

Archiving and Publisher Copyright Policies

The SHERPA Romeo database provides a summary of permissions given by each publisher's copyright transfer agreement.

SHERPA/ROMEO search

Statistics for Publishers allowing OA archiving

Publishers allowing archiving of Publisher version within an Institutional Repository

Publishers with Paid Options for OA

Copyright

 

The guide Understanding Open Access in the Academic Environment provides a chapter to help authors understand their rights under copyright law. Chapter three, Understanding Copyright Law is a useful resource for authors.