University of Newcastle Library guides

Virtual Sourcebook for Aboriginal Studies in the Hunter Region Guide:  Introduction

A guide to materials from the collections relating to Aboriginal people throughout Newcastle and the wider Hunter Region.

Sourcebook for Aboriginal studies : Introduction

The Virtual Sourcebook for Aboriginal Studies in the Hunter Region

This site was originally created to assist the Awaba project, a collaborative venture by the University of Newcastle's School of Liberal Arts and the Wollotuka School of Aboriginal Studies. The original brief was to digitise the works of Reverend Lancelot Threlkeld, but we continued to identify materials from the collections relating to Aboriginal people throughout Newcastle and the wider Hunter Region. Due to the assistance of scholars and members of the local indigenous and non indigenous community the site grew rapidly to include many hundreds of sources. We hope that this will lead to a better understanding and respect of the richness and beauty of the Aboriginal view.

The following documents are mostly in PDF format. If you do not already have it, you will need to download and install the free Adobe Acrobat reader to view these files. If you are having trouble viewing the files through your web browser try downloading the document to your computer. This is done by right mouse-clicking on the link and then choose 'Save Target As'. Then, pick a location on your computer and click and 'OK'. The files will be downloaded to your computer. Please bear in mind that some are large files, and so may take some time to download depending upon your connection.

 

Acknowledgements

Thank you to the following individuals, groups and institutions who have been an inspiration and/or kindly helped in locating and providing these resources for research (in alphabetical order): The Aboriginal Support Group, Dr Glenn Albrecht, Leah Armstrong, The Australian Dictionary of Biography, Kerrie Brauer, Dr Helen Brayshaw, Viola Brown, The Cooksey Family, Vera Deacon, Len Dyall, Professor John Fryer, Margaret Fryer, Niel Gunson, The Newcastle Herald, Nola Hawken, John Heath, Jack Horner, Brian Laut, Maaiangal Ngura (Clan) of the Worimi Nation, Macquarie University, John Maynard, Rosemary Melville, Mitchell Library, David Moore, Les Murray, Newcastle & Hunter District Historical Society, Newcastle Region Art Gallery, Oxford University Press, Bobby Paquet, Mrs Marjorie Raven, Greg Ray, Carol Ridgeway-Bissett, David Roberts, Denis Rowe, Mike Scanlon, Boris Sokoloff, State Library of New South Wales, Bruce Turnbull, Jim Wafer, Col Whitehead.

Gionni Di Gravio
University Archivist
Cultural Collections (formerly Archives, Rare Books & Special Collections)

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354