AnatomyHuman GenomicsImmunologyMedical BiochemistryMicrobiology/Infectious DiseaseNeuroscience
AnatomyMedicineNursingPharmacy
This is the "Home" page of the "Biomedical Science Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biomedical Science Resource Guide   Tags: biomedical_science, ebooks, journal_databases  

A guide to scholarly resources of interest to biomedical science students and staff at the University of Newcastle, Australia.
Last Updated: Mar 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.newcastle.edu.au/biomedsci Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Latest articles from Nature Reviews Microbiology

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Latest articles from Cell

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

CURRENT TRIALS

Please send all feedback regarding the following trial to Debbie Booth.

CLINICALKEY

A trial of ClinicalKey is available until the end of April 2014.

ClinicalKey includes more than 1,100 books and 500 journals in 52 specialties, thousands of videos and images, access to Australian Medicines Handbook and links to FirstConsult, ProceduresConsult, guidelines and patient education materials.

If you’d like to see how ClinicalKey works, view the video The Orthopedic Search Story, or check the ClinicalKey YouTube Channel.

ClinicalKey will replace MDConsult at the end of 2014. 

First time access will require acceptance of the security options.

 Please send all feedback regarding trials to Debbie Booth.

 

Finding Background Information

Reference books, such as dictionaries, encyclopaedias and handbooks are a useful starting point when beginning your research. Dictionaries provide definitions, and help you to understand the terminology. Encyclopaedias provide a general overview of a topic, and may also provide a list of books and journal articles for further reading.

Reference books can be located via a subject search in NEWCAT. For example, 'human anatomy handbooks', 'microbiology dictionaries'

Listed below are some of the major reference works for biomedical sceince available online:

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Microbiology (3rd ed - 2009) - [ScienceDirect]
Encyclopedia of microbiology is a comprehensive survey of microbiology, edited by world class researchers. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and includes a glossary, list of abbreviations, defining statement, introduction, further reading and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences - [Wiley eBooks]
Includes articles in the fields of biochemistry, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, neuroscience, plant science, physiology, structural biology, virology and the history of life sciences.

Cover Art
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (2nd ed - 2006) - [Oxford Reference Online]
Provides a comprehensive survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. Fully revised and updated, this new edition includes definitions of terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.


Cover Art
Wiley Encyclopedia of Molecular Medicine - [Knovel]
With over 1,700 separate primary entries, this comprehensive encyclopedia sets the standard for reference works in this rapidly expanding field. The coverage in this encyclopedia is multilayered, ranging from the organ to the cell to the molecular and includes extensive cross-referencing.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition (2nd ed) - [ScienceDirect]
Comprising ten volumes, this new edition provides a comprehensive coverage of the fields of food science, food technology, and nutrition. Every article is thorough in its coverage, the writing is succinct and straightforward, and the work presents the reader with the best available summary and conclusions on each topic. Easy to use, meticulously organized, and written from a truly international perspective, the Encyclopedia is an invaluable reference tool.

Cover Art
A DIctionary of Chemistry - [Oxford Reference Online: Premium]
Fully revised and updated, the Sixth Edition of this popular dictionary is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry, either in high school or in college. The new edition features more than 4,300 entries, including hundreds of new terms. The Dictionary covers all aspects of chemistry--from physical chemistry to biochemistry--including topics such as metallurgy, materials science, forensic science, and geology. There are also biographical entries on key figures in the field. The book has single or double-page feature articles on important topics such as polymers and crystal defects, and chronologies that chart the main discoveries in such fields as atomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and plastics. The new edition also features web links accessed via a companion website, featuring additional information that is regularly updated to ensure that it stays fresh. The volume concludes with nine appendices, including the periodic table, SI units, the chemical elements, Nobel prizewinners, and useful websites.

 

Search NewCat+

Use NewCat+ to search for books, ebooks, Course Reserves reading lists, journal articles and much more.

 

ABC Health News

Contact the Library

    - By phone
    - Via our online ASAPInfo service
    - In person at one of our libraries

Callaghan Campus
Debbie Booth - Faculty Librarian, Health
Room L338, Auchmuty Library
Phone: 02 492 15844
Email:
debbie.booth@newcastle.edu.au
Library hours

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip