LibGuides: Construction Management, Architecture and Disaster Management: Patents &amp; Standards

Patents & Standards

What is a Patent?

"A patent is a legally enforceable right for a device, substance, method or process. For your application to be successful, your invention must be new, useful and inventive or innovative. When granted, a patent will give you exclusive commercial rights to your invention." (IP Australia)

Australian Patents

AusPat This link opens in a new window
Contains all Australian patent specifications and records dating back to 1904.
Free public resource

Australian Intellectual Property Office
Provides access to Australian patents and links to legislation; includes up-to-date information about Australian patents not available elsewhere.
IP Australia
Online Services for searching Patents, Designs and Trade Marks. IP Australia is the federal government agency responsible for granting rights in patents, trade marks and designs.

International Patents

European Patent Office
Provides access to full page images for most patents from 1790 to present.
US Patent and Trademark Office
Search-able database of US patents with full text of patent documents.
World Intellectual Property Digital Library
Provides access to intellectual property data collections such as PCT (Patents), Madrid (Trademarks), Hague (Industrial Designs), Article 6ter (State Emblems, Official Hallmarks, and Emblems of Intergovernmental Organizations).

What is a Standard?

Standards are documents setting out specifications, procedures and guidelines. They are designed to ensure products, services and systems are safe, reliable and consistent. (Standards Australia)

Australian Standards

Australian Standards This link opens in a new window
Full-text Australian Standards only. Searching is by standard title, number, keyword or phrase.
6 concurrent users - Please LOGOUT at the end of your session
Registration required to view, print, and download. Registration instructions are available here User Guide
IMPORTANT! : From 7/10/23, new digital rights management software will be enabled for this platform. If you are having trouble opening PDFs from there, please see this short video for how to resolve
IEEE Xplore - IEEE/IET Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Over 3-million full-text documents in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
The Library's subscription INCLUDES IEEE Journals, Conference Proceedings and Standards (published and approved).

The Library's Subscription EXCLUDES IEEE Draft Standards.

International Standards

Please Note: Non-Australian Standards not held by the University of Newcastle can be requested via Inter Library Loan request.

ASTM International standards online This link opens in a new window
Access to the current collection of ASTM Standards using IHS Standards Expert. These standards begin with the acronym 'ASTM'. IHS Standards Expert includes an index of over 1.6 million standards, specifications, codes, regulations and related documents from government, military and commercial sources.
Please note that only a limited selection of Standards are available to University of Newcastle staff and students. To search the subscribed content, please select the "Subscriptions" tab and then click the ASTM logo

ISO - International Organization for Standarization
A worldwide federation of national standards bodies from some 130 countries.
National Information Standards Organization
NISO develops and promotes technical standards used in a wide variety of information services.
CEN - European Standards
CEN, the European Committee for Standardization, is an association that brings together the National Standardization Bodies of 33 European countries.