Prepared by the Library of The University of Newcastle, Australia, this Guide details Library and Information Resources for studies in Architecture.
To browse recent books on sustainable architecture
|NewCat+ the Library's new catalogue lets you search for journal articles, books, ebooks, videos, DVD's, kits, Course Reserves (Short Loans), etc simultaneously with a single search.
Access NewCat+ here
Or, instead select and search for journal articles only in the specific Databases listed below.
- Avery Architectural periodicals index
Covers international, scholarly and popular architecture and design journals (including publications of professional associations) in Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia & USA.
- Art & Architecture Complete
A comprehensive bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for about 1,000 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and numerous books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and a large image collection provided by Picture Desk and others.
- ARCH : Australian Architecture Database
Covers Australian architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture.
- JSTOR - the scholarly journal archive
Back issues of core journals in the arts, architecture and humanities, social sciences and sciences, business, mathematics and statistics.
- Art Index Fulltext
Art Full Text features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications. This database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film and architecture. Researchers are able to track the careers of artists and review their materials and methods, and can find books by and about artists, as well as interviews, profiles and much more. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
- Art Index Retrospective
Art Index Retrospective: 1929 -1984 contains abstracts and indexes and some selective full text to art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.: 1929 -1984 contains abstracts and indexes and some selective full text to art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.
- Environment Design Guide
Environment Design Guide from the Australian Institute of Architects contains design notes which covers environmental strategies for building designers. The topics include: designing with solar photovoltaics, passive solar design, water conservation, daylighting, urbanism, building user perceptions and behaviours, embodied energy and performance of materials, designing for energy efficiency, designing for climate change, and environmental assessment tools. Also called "BEDP environment design guide"
|NewCat+the Library's new catalogue lets you search for journal articles, books, ebooks, videos, DVD's, kits, etc simultaneously with a single search.
Access NewCat+ here
Or, instead select and search for architecture specific resources in the specific Databases listed below.
More than 20,000 peer-reviewed journals, including 2,800 gold open access journals. Over 365 trade publications, Articles-in-press (i.e., articles that have been accepted for publication) from more than 3,750 journals and publishers. 6.5 million conference papers from over 17,000 worldwide events. Plus Patents.
- Art & architecture in video
Art and Architecture in Video Online is one of the individual discipline collections that make up Alexander Street Press' new Academic Video Online cross-search resource, VAST. Art and Architecture in Video Online provides a collection video online of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory and practice of art, design and architecture.
- Masters of architecture
An ongoing series of digitised colour images of the works of major architects and of architecture from some major cities including London and Sydney. This resource is based on the original collection of 58 slides sets and additional slide sets are added each year. Architects include Frank Lloyd Wright, Alvar Aalto, Le Corbusier, Charles Rennie Mackintosh, Norman Foster.
- Pidgeon digital
Pidgeon Digital is the online version of the Pidgeon Audiovisual Collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers. Digitised from the original series of tape/slide talks by Monica Pidgeon (long-time editor of the influential magazine "Architectural Design")
CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. Includes bibliographic information about over 11,600 records from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD futures, DDSS and others.
- National Construction Code of Australia (NCC aka BCA)
The NCC Online covers the 3 volumes of the Building Code of Australia, as well as the Guide to the BCA & the BCA Archive. Volume 3 is the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA).
Acumen, produced by the Australian Institute of Architects, aims to provide the most relevant and up-to-date advisory material and news about managing an architectural practice and managing architectural projects.