EBSCOHost DatabasesEi Compendex &/or INSPEC Saved Search AlertsOVIDSP Databases Saved Search AlertsProQuest Saved Search AlertsScienceDirect Saved Search AlertsSCOPUS Saved Search Alerts
RSS Feeds - an example from the ScienceDirect Database
This is the "Alerting Services" page of the "Alerting Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alerting Services   Tags: alerting services, alerts, citation alerts, rss, rss feeds  

This Guide covers Saved Search, TOC, Citation Alerts and RSS Feeds for selected databases available at the Library of The University of Newcastle, Australia.
Last Updated: Dec 19, 2013 URL: http://libguides.newcastle.edu.au/alerting_services Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Alerting Services Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Alerts

Alerting services assist researchers in keeping up-to-date with current literature in a discipline.

There are four(4) types of Search Alerts;

  1. Saved Search Alerts
  2. TOC (Table of Contents) Alerts
  3. Citation Alerts
  4. RSS Feeds

 

Saved Search Alerts

A Saved Search Alert is an actual search which you have saved in a specific database, for example, ScienceDirect.

Your saved search is run against new articles added to the database on a scheduled cycle which can vary from daily, weekly, fortnightly to monthly. Results, i.e. "hits" are returned to you via a nominated email address. The actual results sent back can vary from database to database, however, in general the standard details are, full citation data, abstract and (where applicable) the URL to the full text.

Searches can be saved for a period of up to 12 months or more, depending on the database. Your Saved Searches can be edited, amended or deleted at any time you choose.

Different databases provide different limits as to the maximum number of Saved Searches available to you.

You must have a Personal Account in each database where you have Saved Search Alerts.

 

TOC (Table of Contents) Alerts

TOC, i.e. Table of Contents Alerts, are Journal Title specific.

That is, you select a specific Journal title (or titles) and when a new Issue of this Journal is added to the database the article contents for that Issue are emailed to you.

You must have a Personal Account in each database where you have TOC Alerts.

 

Citation Alerts

A Citation Alert can be set up for either an individual Author (or Authors) or a specific Journal article.

When the Author is cited in the Bibliography or Reference List of another article, as subsequently added to the same database, you are emailed the details of the Citing Article.

A Citation Alert for a specific Journal article works in the same way. When the primary article is cited in the Bibliography or Reference List of another article, as subsequently added to the same database, you are emailed the details of the Citing Article.

You must have a Personal Account in each database where you have Citation Alerts.

 

QR Code for this Guide

Alerting Service guide prepared by the Library of The University of Newcastle, Australia.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip