Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Library Services for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Students: Finding journal articles

Guide to the Library and its resources for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students at UON

Journal articles

What are journal articles?

A journal is a publication covering specific subject areas that is produced on a regular basis, e.g. weekly, monthly, etc.

A journal article is a piece of writing published in a journal that reports on the results of research conducted by academics.

 

Why use journal articles?

The quality of the information you use for your assignments at university is important.

Journal articles are highly-regarded sources of information as they are scholarly in nature, and are often the most current source of information on particular topics.

 

Search for the author and some words from the title in the Library Catalogue NewCat+ if you are looking for a specific article, or type in keywords to find a selection of articles on a topic.

Finding articles for an assignment topic

Looking for articles on a particular topic? Watch the video below. It shows searching using the Library catalogue, NewCat+.

Type keywords into the Library Catalogue NewCat+ to find a selection of articles on a topic.

 

Search tips

  • Use quotation marks to make your search more relevant. Example: "aboriginal communities".
  • If the article is directly listed in the Library you may see different options such as a PDF icon (direct full text), Full text from [Database name] (linked full text), or Check for full text availability ('helper' that's built in to the Library catalogue).
  • If you have issues accessing the full text of an article, try searching by the journal title (last tab)

 

What about databases?

Library databases are online systems that organise scholarly research, including journal articles. Some databases cover many different subject areas, while others have a smaller focus. Not all databases provide the full-text of articles.

Our Subject Resource Guides will point you in the right direction for which database to choose.

Every journal database includes search hints and tips in the help menu - start there if you're not familiar with how to search the databases.

Finding articles when you know the title

Trying to find an article and know the title? Watch the video below.

Search for an author's surname and some words from the title in the Library Catalogue NewCat+ when you are looking for a specific article.

 

Search tips

  • Use quotation marks to make your search more relevant. Example: "Making Inclusion Work in General Education Classrooms".
  • If the article is directly listed in the Library you may see different options such as a PDF icon (direct full text), Full text from [Database name] (linked full text), or Check for full text availability ('helper' that's built in to the Library catalogue).
  • If you have issues accessing the full text of an article, try searching by the journal title (next tab)

Can't get access to the full text of an article?

Watch the video below to see how to access articles by searching for them using the journal title.

Search for the title of the journal in the Library Catalogue, NewCat+ to help with access to articles.

 

Search tips

  • Use quotation marks to make your search more specific. Example: "Journal of Academic Ethics".
  • If the Library has the journal, the catalogue record for the journal will be in the results list. It will include details of years that are available.
  • For journals available online there will be a link to the journal database.
  • Note that some journals (or volumes/issues) may only be available in print format.

 

Found an article from a journal we don't have?

Get It
Loading ...

Need some help?

Ask the Library

Click  Ask the library above to access Library Help and Information


Use our Library Chat service below (when available)