This is the "Home" page of the "Australian Bureau of Statistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Australian Bureau of Statistics   Tags: statistical information, statistics  

Statistics (Australian Bureau of Statistics publications), previously known as AusStats
Last Updated: Aug 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.newcastle.edu.au/ABS Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What are Statistics?

Statistics can be described as the systematic study of data, and statistical literacy is the ability to critically evaluate the data that is presented. (University of Wollongong)

Statistics is the science which deals with the collection, classification, and use of numerical facts or data, bearing on a subject or matter. (Macquarie Dictionary)

The practice or science of collecting and analyzing numerical data in large quantities. (Google)

Statistics is the study of the collection, organisation, analysis, and interpretation of data. It deals with all aspects of this, including the planning of data collection in terms of the design of surveys and experiments. (Wikipedia)

To collect, compare, support or analyse information about or concerning a particular topic. (Anon)

 

      
     

    Library catalogue and database

    Library Collections

    To find books, serials or AV material produced by the Australian Bureau of Statistics held in the Library, use an author, keyword or subject search in Library Catalogue. Type in 'Australian Bureau of Statistics' for each of these searches, click on Submit and library holdings will be shown. A title search can also be used if the correct title of the ABS item is known.

    The University of Newcastle Library subscribes to the database Statistics (previously known as AusStats). This database delivers timely access to more than 2,000 ABS Publications, time series data and tables (over 90,000 series in spreadsheet format), metadata (documentation of surveys, concepts and data items), economic models and 1996 and 2001 Census Basic Community Profiles. New data is added as it becomes available.


    The Statistics database provides information on such topics as:

    • Census data
    • Australian Social Trends
    • Population Clock
    • Medical statistics

    Library Help

    Help and Information

    In person at one of our Libraries

    Via SMS 04887 65006

    Media Information

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip